Four Years Old!

Today we’re celebrating the fourth anniversary of the Wednesday Wanderings!

Kung of Kungs

Kung of Kungs

Why Wanderings?  Because when I started writing these, I wanted to be able to focus on whatever seemed like fun at the moment.  I’d done a series of blogs for Tor.com.  While I enjoyed them, there came a time when I got weary of writing about, well, writer stuff.  When I decided the time had come for me to dive into the blogosphere, I didn’t want to raise the expectation that I’d always be offering wit, wisdom, writerly advice and professional news items.

(Why “Wednesday”?  It alliterates.  Also, Wednesday gives me time to review reader comments  and think about them over the weekend before starting to draft the next week’s piece.)

So, while the fifty-some articles I’ve done in the last year have often dealt with writerly issues, I’ve also felt free to talk about outings  I’ve taken, my garden, books I’ve been reading, and even some of my craft projects.

The funny thing is how often I do end up talking about topics that tie into writing, whether directly or indirectly.  Part of the reason for this is that I genuinely love what I do – and, because of my early training as an English major (and experience as an English professor), I also enjoy thinking about the whys and wherefores that lead to the creation of a story.

In four years, I’ve written well over two hundred essays.  (I hate the word blog…  It’s so ugly.)  This doesn’t count the more than a hundred pieces I’ve put together with my collaborator Alan Robson, for our Thursday Tangents.  Highlights of the last year included the publication of Treecat Wars, written in collaboration with David Weber, Snackreads publishing two of my short stories (“Hamlet Revisited,” and “Servant of Death” written with Fred Saberhagen), and regular updates on the progress of both Artemis Awakening and its yet untitled sequel, AA2.

The photos for these pieces (and the Thursday Tangents) are mostly taken by my husband, Jim Moore.  This week’s “Kung of Kungs” is a pun indebted to the fact that in mah-jong, four of a kind is called a “kung” or “kong” or sometimes “Oh, wow!  I can’t believe I just drew that tile!”  I had a hand almost this good over the Christmas holidays…

Writing the Wednesday Wanderings has been a lot of work, but it’s been fun, too.  I anticipate it remaining fun, since May 2014 is going to see the release of Artemis Awakening and at least one short story.  There are some other surprises in the wings.

Heh, just looked out my office window.  My neighbor has let his beard get really thick.  Cold weather’s the reason, I bet.  Ah, but I wander.

And that’s the point, if there is any.  I hope you’ll continue wandering along with me.  For those of you just discovering these pieces, the entire output of four years is archived on my WordPress site.  They’re even more or less categorized!

Let me know if there’s anything you’d like to hear about.  If you’re too shy to use the Comments, that’s okay.  The e-mail address jane2@janelindskold.com will also reach me.

Now… Back to AA2.  I finished a rough draft, and am now in the middle of the first of several read-throughs.  I left my characters facing an unexpected confrontation.  Better go see how they handle it.

9 Responses to “Four Years Old!”

  1. Peter Says:

    Speaking as somebody who usually lets his beard grow out in cold weather but trims it short in warm, you’re probably right in your guess :). (Caused me grief when I lived in Chile and flew back to Canada over Christmas one year – I had to wear a scarf during the visit – something I hate doing – because the face fur was trimmed to summer length.)

  2. Heteromeles Says:

    Happy fourth, Jane! While my partner won’t let me grow my beard out, more to the point, I wish we had some cold weather to prompt such pellage. My grape vine leafed out over Christmas! Sheesh! Now I’m dreading what a February frost might do to the poor thing.

  3. Dominique Says:

    Happy Birthday to Wednesday Wanderings! The best way to start your Wednesday!

  4. Paul Says:

    Four years! Time indeed flies when you’re having fun (or at least when I am!).

  5. Louis Robinson Says:

    You have cold weather? Who would have thought! Of course, I’m told that my standards are higher, or perhaps lower is a better term, than most ;)

    Anyway, wander wither thou wilst! Just don’t go grey on us. One Mithrandir is enough for any world – some would say more than enough.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Oh, dear… If you’ve seen a recent photo, I am silvering quite a bit.

      Temperature dropped to 13 last night. (Freezing is 32 for us.) I think that qualifies as cold. Albuquerque is at a mile high, remember. We’re not Phoenix, Arizona.

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        Cool. Definitely cool. I might do up my coat. :)

        Seriously, though, yes, the altitude wipes out the latitude, and then some. People forget just how chilly your high desert can get, even in mid summer.

  6. Paul Genesse Says:

    Happy birthday and thanks for all the wanderings!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

