As Summer Wanders On

Artemis Awakening has been out for a bit over a month now and good things are still happening.  I’m doing a signing this coming Saturday (July 12) 3:00 pm at Bookworks (4022 Rio Grande NW next to Flying Star Café).  Drop in and bring your questions not only about this book but about my other books or writing or whatever…

Our Variation of Green

Our Variation of Green

Later this month, SFWA President and author Steve Gould and I are signing at the Barnes and Noble at Coronado Mall (also here in Albuquerque).  In addition to reading and signing, we’ll probably be talking about some of the challenges involved in writing series.

Finally, don’t forget, Bubonicon, New Mexico’s  premier SF/F convention, is three weeks early this year.  The dates are August 1-3.  It’s a great convention, drawing both authors and fans from around the country.  Check out their website for more information.

This week started a multi-part series in which Scot Noel and I discuss various aspects of the Cover Art Contest we were both involved in.  (See WW 1-29-14 for details.)  This week we talk about why we put quite a lot of time – and hard-earned money – into this project.  In subsequent weeks we’re going to be taking a closer look at some of the art, starting with some interesting pieces that didn’t make the Finalist gallery but still struck our fancy, then moving onto the Finalists and Winners.  It’s a great look behind the scenes of the creative process.

Here on the home front, I’m taking a break from writing fiction to write a book about writing.   The book is an expansion of some of the pieces I’ve written for these Wednesday Wanderings over the years.  I also intend to address the question of the elusive Golden Key.  When I’m done, the book will be available as both an e-book and POD.  I’ll keep you posted as I move along.

I haven’t given up on fiction.  Not in the least!  I’m currently researching two short stories.  One will go with the first prize winning piece for the Cover Art Contest I mentioned above.  The other is for the anthology Shadows and Reflections, a tribute collection to the late Roger Zelazny.   Which one gets written first is up to the Muse. Again, I’ll keep you posted.

When I’m not doing any of the myriad aboves, I’ve been enjoying my yard.  The yellow lilies I featured last week are still going strong — and we now have three separate patches so the yard smells wonderful, especially in the evening.  Last week,we started the squash harvest.   I’m also cutting Hungarian peppers and a few eggplant.  We nearly an inch of rain spread out over four days, which has freshened everything up.

It’s actually green!  Amazing…

One Response to “As Summer Wanders On”

  1. Paul Genesse Says:

    Sounds great, Jane. Have fun at your events! I’ve got your book in my hot little hands now. Looking forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

