My Resolutions

I am a firm believer in New Year’s resolutions as long as they are practical

What's Waiting For Me

 and not terribly depressing.

This year my primary resolution is to remember to write 2011 rather than 2010 on my correspondence. I nearly slipped up when writing my pen-pal this weekend, but I caught myself in time. Resolution kept! I also bought two new calenders, just to help me keep on track.

The InuYasha one is quite a challenge to write on, since the backgrounds are dark. Solution! Pull out the silver gel pens!! Silver looks really cool against dark purple.

Apparently, many people’s resolutions have to do with losing weight. I deduce this in the best Sherlock Holmes manner from the fact that the new Border’s Books coupon is for diet books. Moreover, they are only offering thirty-three (rather than the usual forty to fifty) percent off. Obviously, they figure there’s a serious interest in diets out there.

Also, when I logged on to the web, the homepage headlines all had to do with dieting tips.

Frankly, a New Year’s resolution having to do with dieting would fail miserably at my house. Many of our Christmas gifts involved chocolate. I like this and refuse to let a mere resolution get in the way of pleasure. Several of our neighbors presented us with homemade cookies and candy. Again, I refuse to let this generosity go to waste.

And why set up for failure? What a miserable way to start a year!

Shall I admit to being a sentimental fool? Why not? I love “that blessings number” as Bing Crosby irreverently refers to the song “Count Your Blessings (Instead of Sheep)” in White Christmas.

At this moment, I’m feeling more than a little stressed about the number of deadlines I have before the middle of 2011. Then I remember all the people who are unemployed. What do you know? I end up feeling pretty grateful.

So the question of the moment is “Resolutions: Blessing or Bane?” Do you make resolutions? Do you keep them?

Meanwhile, I’m off to read the mass market proofs for Five Odd Honors, deadline number one for the New Year. Glancing at the first sheet, I see that my editor seems to have found a whole bunch of really great reviews I hadn’t seen. How very, very nice!

11 Responses to “My Resolutions”

  1. Debbie Says:

    I think of my birthday as my own personal new year, so that’s when I set goals for the coming year. I’m not crazy about the word resolution. It connotates something to set in concrete for my Aquarian sensibilities. So I set goals that are flexible and that allow for things like an unexpected contract or opportunity that I just can’t pass up.

  2. Nicholas Wells Says:

    I never do resolutions anymore. Instead I think of things I’d like to accomplish, but I never take it further than that. Mostly because I tend to do that on a floating basis anyway. At random times I’ll think of things I’d like to get done over a certain time frame.

    Though I will admit, I’d really like to get my novel ready for submission by the end of the year. I’m getting tired of working on it, seeing it’s potential just sitting in my computer. So perhaps, for the first time in a while, I’ll be making a resolution. Or just driving myself nuts. Not sure which yet.

  3. janelindskold Says:

    Nicolas and Debbie have both hit on something I think is really crucial — goals are good, driving yourself crazy is not.

    A few years ago, a friend told me he’d resolved to work regularly on a novel he’d dreamed about writing for years. He’s done it. That resolution didn’t make him crazy, it inspired him!

    Despite my (hopefully humorous?) comments about diets, what I object to is not dieting, it’s setting yourself up for failure. All that chocolate will be rationed out in nightly treats for weeks to come, not eaten in a binge. I watch what I eat and exercise regularly. If I resolved to lose ten pounds, I’d fail.

    So resolutions aren’t bad, but driving yourself nuts… Yeah. I think it is.

  4. Debbie Says:

    Nicholas: Besides the goals I set for the year, I also set goals every New Moon. I like this because as you said, it’s more of a floating basis. On Full Moon I take stock of what I’ve accomplished. I think this is an important step that a lot of people forget. You can set all the goals you want, but if you don’t take a moment and see what you’ve done to move toward those goals you a) can’t adjust what you do to further that goal or b) might not realize how much you have done and thus become discouraged.

  5. Barbara Joan Says:

    It’s been a long time since I’ve made any resolutions – – having said that I am always working on improving myself, my disposition, losing weight, and yes, I do take stock and see that in some cases I have achieved things but realize that I will never hit perfection or become a perfect “ten” in size or any area. But if you don’t review you never know where there is room for improvement.

  6. Fiona Whey Says:

    I don’t really do the whole resolution thing either because every day I make a mental checklist of what I want to do for that day and sometimes my day dreams bring me to thinking about what I am hoping for in the next year or so.

    Right now my main resolution is to eat less chocolate – I definitely agree with your Jane, chocolate is a pleasure I’m not willing to give up, but eating less of it each day would definitely be better for me 🙂

  7. Paul Says:

    I seem to make one or two of the same resolutions at the start of each year, and generally achieve indifferent success with them. I don’t know why I pick the start of a new year, except that it’s customary and it is a sort of new start, for those living by our particular calendar.

    I hadn’t thought of using birthdays instead. Not a bad idea.

  8. Susan Says:

    I really enjoyed your blog titled Resolutions–so, how many of us especially as we get older manage to keep our resolutions? Good question, right? Sometimes we win, sometimes we fail–but at least we try to accomplish what we set out to do.

    Anyhow, Jane, I wish you a wonderful New Year filled with blessings and wish you good luck with your new books to follow this year! You are right that we have so much to be grateful for when we see how many people are unemployed or have gone into bankruptcy, or have lost houses over the economy–there is a lesson to be learned in all this–people need to slow down and concentrate on the positives and learn that there is a lesson in all of our sufferings and those that do not have it so badly after all. Peace of God Jane!

  9. janelindskold Says:

    I like Debbie’s birthday idea, too — with the New Moon for checking in with oneself.

    After all, New Year brings so many things. Businesses that has gone “quiet” over the holidays get crazy catching up. There’s all sorts of stuff to do (thank you notes, putting away decorations). Why add resolutions?

    Meanwhile, I have the proofs for FIVE ODD HONORS in paperback done (release in May, so those of you who like hard covers should make sure you get them while they’re still available).

    I’ve written six pages on the Weber collaboration. Now to see if the impulse will carry throught to today.

    Gee… I hope “hetoromeles” is okay. He’s unusually quiet. (I’ve heard from Alan off-line. He’s just overwhelmed).

  10. Ann M Nalley Says:

    My “resolution” for this New Year actually started in late November, early December. My resolution is to be more grateful and to enjoy the little blessings of each day, and be more at peace and thankful. It has been helpful, so it seemed both good and right to continue this for the year ahead.

    Like everybody else I have so many things to get done each day ~ short term and long term ~ I can get easily overwhelmed and panicky ~ then depressed and immobilized. It has helped me so much to be grateful for the warm carpet on my bedroom floor when I wake up at 4:30 each morning… for the hot water in the bathroom… the coffee pot downstairs… the food in the house…. What a different perspective over the long-term panic!

    So, peace to everyone this year!

  11. janelindskold Says:

    I really like your resolution, Ann…

    Our tile floors are cold enough to chill butter on this time of year and, like you, I’m always glad for the throw-rug beside my bed.

    Peace, indeed!

Leave a Reply

