Fire Season is Hot!

First thing, for those of you who haven’t checked the Comments from last week, the title of the piece we were discussing is “Temple of the Horse” (artist, Marjie Bassler).  It’s really worth looking at the comments, since people had such interesting and different suggestions for the title – all of which “fit” one way or another.

Jessica, Valiant, and Lionheart

That brings me to the title of this particular Wandering.  I started to write “Fire Season is Out!” Then I realized that saying a fire was “out” had the opposite meaning of what I intended, especially if you didn’t know this was the title of a book.

And it is…. Fire Season, the first of my collaborative novels with my friend, David Weber is now officially available.

As those of you who have been reading these Wanderings for the last couple of years  know, this project has been in the works for quite a while.  I announced it in my WW 11-10-10, but even then it had been under discussion for almost a full year.   In the WW for 3-16-11, I told you about Weber and Sharon coming to visit, in part so Weber and I could brainstorm.  I’ve mentioned my labors on the book here and there since.

Now Fire Season is available.  What’s it about?  Well, let me quote the cover copy, since it’s a bit more accurate than the usual.

“Loyalties Tested By Fire!

“Fire weather…  That’s what the treecats call those rare seasons when the slightest spark can set aflame the vast green reaches they call home.

“Teen-aged Stephanie Harrington rapidly learns just how deadly those fires can be.  Guided her treecat companion, Lionheart, Stephanie and her good friend Karl Zivonik venture into the heart of a raging inferno to rescue twin treecats put at risk by human carelessness.  Only the trio’s absolute trust for each other stands between them and disaster.

“But Sphinx isn’t the only thing ripe for burning.  Stephanie has fallen hard for new arrival to Sphinx, Anders Whittaker.  When Anders vanishes without a trace, Stephanie is at the forefront of the search.   Then a lightning strike sets the Copperwall Mountains aflame and as a provisional ranger she is ordered to her post.

“Will Stephanie choose to honor the claims of her planet or those of her heart?”

What else?  I like the cover art…   It features one of my favorite secondary characters, Jessica Pheriss, and a couple of treecats.  (Jessica’s holding an injured one.)

Baen Books is doing something nice to commemorate the book’s release.  They’re sponsoring a donation drive for the Carolina Tiger Rescue, a refuge for tigers and other wild cats in need of a safe home.  Baen Books will match donations through either of these links – http://baen.com/fundraiser-oct2012.asp or http://carolinatigerrescue.org/help/2012-FireSeason.asp  – made in the month of October, dollar for dollar.

Obviously, I’m too close to the novel to judge it fairly, but I can say I definitely got into the adventure and came to really care about the characters.  I know some of the regular readers of these Wanderings landed advanced copies of Fire Season.  Maybe you could share your thoughts?

And I’m, of course, open to questions.  Indeed, I invite them!

13 Responses to “Fire Season is Hot!”

  1. Paul Genesse Says:

    Congrats on the book! I just ordered a copy from Amazon. The Carolina Tiger Rescue is a great cause and I sent them some money. PayPal made it easy.

  2. Ann M Nalley Says:

    Love the cover! Talk about one’s personal perception! I thought it was one very long tree cat, and that the breathing mask was the human’s mask, not the face of the cat… I look forward to enjoying FIRE SEASON!

  3. epochwolf Says:

    Looking forward to reading the book! Anyone looking for an ebook, it’s available here on Baen’s website: http://www.baenebooks.com/p-1687-fire-season.aspx

  4. Christopher Wilcox Says:

    Jane, looking forward to reading another of your books – especially when you are collaborating with another one of my favorite authors in a much loved universe. How can you go wrong with treecats!

  5. Heteromeles Says:

    I’m looking forward to reading it too. Great news!

  6. Louis Robinson Says:

    I thought that the days of 155pp or bust were long gone, but this had a lot of that feel. The characters leapt from one misadventure to another, and then the whole thing came to a screeching halt! Of course, that’s probably because I was having so darned much fun I didn’t _want_ to stop and wait for the next book. I nearly lost it completely – at work, too – when the family went out to lunch at Eric’s place.

  7. Paul Says:

    Now I can’t wait for the next in the series.

  8. janelindskold Says:

    _Fire Season_ is indeed harkening back to the days of when books were expected to pack a lot into a small space. However, at 287 pages, it’s not quite 155 or bust!

    I had fun with that structure. One of the tricks is to keep the number of points of view tightly focused.

    • Louis Robinson Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed writing it – it was fun reading it. ‘There’s room for many a more’

      BTW, with your permission, a little background on ‘Eric Flint’ and the ‘Red Letter Cafe’: Eric is another of David Weber’s collaborators. He’s also a dyed in the fur Marxist and former union organiser, known on Baen’s Bar as Ursus Rufus. Since, like David, he has a Masters in history, watching him respond to challenges from people who didn’t know their stuff was a major source of entertainment back when he had the time to amuse himself that way.

  9. Christopher Wilcox Says:

    Another excellent chapter in the Honorverse and a superb follow up to Beautiful Friendship. Always a pleasure to lose myself in your work.

  10. Charles Simpson Says:

    Hi Jane,

    I loved your work in Fire Season can’t wait for Treecat Wars. Found some fan art of treecats wearing and using native accouterments you might like:

    http://zenzmurfy.deviantart.com/#/d5k1v6p

    http://zenzmurfy.deviantart.com/#/d5k5i8e

    This is the first art showing treecats as sentient beings with a native culture I’ve found, so thought I would share them with you.

    Charlie AKA pokermind on David Weber’s site.

Leave a Reply

