Second Fragment

Hi!  A brief introduction to newcomers to this feature…  This Friday Fragment is a list of what I’ve read over the past week.  It is not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

 This is also also not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Enjoy!

Heap of Books

Heap of Books

Recently Completed:

An Aria of Omens by Patrice Greenwood.  This third in her “Wisteria Tearoom Mysteries” might be the strongest.  I enjoyed the use of the Santa Fe Opera as a setting.  As a bonus, two original recipes – one for a cocktail, one for a dessert, are included.  I want an Aria Cake now!

Corto Maltese: The Ballad of the Salt Sea by Hugo Pratt.  Many years ago, Roger Zelazny turned me on to the Corto Maltese graphic novels.  They’re weird and wonderful, managing to seamlessly blend hard historical realities and mystic adventure.  I always thought there was a story pre-dating the collections Roger sent me, even though the first one in the set (The Brazilian Eagle) was neatly labeled “1.”  Imagine my delight and surprise when, while searching the shelves at my public library for something else entirely, I came across this.  In some ways this volume is not as strong as some of the later stories, either in art or plot, but it’s still a great adventure tale.

Reading it led me to pulling out the other eight graphic novels, published by NBM, and starting re-reading.  I’m up to number seven out of eight…

Recast by Seung Hui Kye.   This Korean manga starts out seeming a little too much like those shonen (boy’s) manga that are thinly disguised adaptations of video games.  However, I was interested enough by the end of the first three volumes to order the remaining three that our library has in stock.

Lean Mean Thirteen by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.

Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.  This may be one of the best in that Stephanie Plum puts herself on the line for Ranger, rather than waiting for him to pull her out of trouble.  A nice bit of character development.

Kim by Rudyard Kipling.  Audiobook, superlatively read by Margaret Hilton.  Often touted as the first spy novel, it’s so, so much more…

In Progress:

Border Ambush by Melody Groves.

Got A Revolution: The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane by Jeff Tamarkin.  Jim and I recently watched a documentary.  I decided I wanted to learn a little more.

Days of Blood And Starlight by Laini Taylor.  Audiobook.  I listened to the first book in the series, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, a couple months ago.

And, as mentioned above, the final two volumes of Corto Maltese.

Within the Last Couple Months:

Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya.  Whenever Southwestern Spanish literature is mentioned, this book is sure to come up.  I found it very slow to get started, as if the author felt he needed to anchor the eventual mystical material very solidly in little boy snot and piss.  However, by the time I was finished, I was glad I’d taken the time to read it.

2 Responses to “Second Fragment”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Sure glad you like to read. Lots to learn from this.

  2. Paul Genesse Says:

    Wow, Jane, you sure do read a wide variety of things. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

