FF: Another Fragment

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

What's in Your Book Bag?

What’s in Your Book Bag?

Enjoy!

Recently Completed:

Border Ambush by Melody Groves.  Excellent setting details.  The Colton Brothers, Trace and James, reminded me of the brothers from the film Silverado.  James is the annoying one.  The really annoying one.

Light Thickens by Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.  This turned out to be a sort of sequel to a Marsh novel set twenty years earlier.  Once again murder haunts the Dolphin Theater – this time tangled up with the curse associated with the play Macbeth.  If you like theater (I do), you’ll enjoy the opening sections.  If you don’t, they may drive you crazy.

Recast by Seung Hui Kye.  Volumes 3-6.  I read the first three issues of this Korean manga a couple weeks ago and liked enough to order the rest from my library.  Some parts are great, but the author doesn’t seem to know where to focus.  Ending is far too sudden, making me suspect a cancellation.

Tied Up in Tinsel by Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.  A Christmas murder set in a house where the owner has gotten around the servant problem by hiring “oncer” murderers.  I like quirky characters, so I very much enjoyed.

When in Rome.  Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.  Roderick Alleyn in Rome in quest of a key element in an on-going drug smuggling investigation.  Murder crops up before long.

In Progress:

Lord Demon by Roger Zelazny and Jane Lindskold.  Yes.  You read that right.  I’m re-reading my own novel.  Since I haven’t read any of it since soon after its release in 1999, it’s almost like reading something written by someone else – a feeling enhanced because of Roger’s contribution.  Ask me why I’m re-reading it now!

Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich.

Within the Last Couple Months:

El Malpais, Mount Taylor, and Zuni Mountains: a Hiking Guide and History by Sherri Robinson.  I got this from the library as a resource when I was writing “The Hermit and the Jackalopes” for the forthcoming anthology The Change, edited by S.M. Stirling.  It was so fantastically written that I read the whole thing.

5 Responses to “FF: Another Fragment”

  1. Alan Robson Says:

    All right, I’m asking. Why are you re-reading “Lord Demon” now? I re-read it a year or so ago and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I’m sure you’ll have fun.

    I’ve just read “Queen of the Damned” by Robert McCammon. He made his reputation as an SF/Horror novelist and then fell silent for several years. When he returned to writing, it was with a series of historical detective novels set in (American) colonial times. They may be historical novels but at times they address modern concerns. “Queen of the Damned” is one of these. Among other things, it’s about child abuse.


    -Alan

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’m glad someone was curious!

      I was invited to contribute a short story to an anthology of stories in honor of Roger Zelazny called _Shadows and Reflections_.

      For this one, contributors may write in any of Roger’s universes — with the exception of Amber. I’ve always felt a little odd about doing such without direct knowledge of how the author might feel about it. (Some, like Larry Niven, seem to welcome such.)

      Roger was one of the most important people in my life and I really wanted to be part of the project, so I figured if I wrote in one of the universes that he had invited me into I could balance my desires and my qualms.

      What I didn’t expect was to enjoy the book so very much!

  2. Chad Merkley Says:

    I’ve read the “Amber” books, but nothing else by Roger Zelazny. I’ll have to check the library for more.

    Recently, my brother-in-law recommended that I read anything I could find by Brandon Sanderson. Most of it has been pretty good stuff–not awesome, but good–with one exception. The novella The Emperor’s Soul is amazing. Great setting, great character’s, great plot….It’s just a little gem of a book. It was also the first thing I read by Sanderson, and nothing else quite lived up to it.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I was a huge fan of Roger’s work long before I met him. I had no idea how many of my favorite SF/F books he had written until I finally got to a point in my life where I had room to organize my books.

      The same guy wrote LORD OF LIGHT? And CREATURES OF LIGHT AND DARKNESS and…

      He’s a varied writer, so if something doesn’t work for you, consider something else. I think Alan and I did a piece on Roger a while back… Ask if you want a link.

      • Louis Robinson Says:

        Amber, and 9 Princes in particular, were good. Very good.

        However, I’m not sure I’d have stuck around for all of them if I hadn’t read Lord of Light long before. IOW, if one of Roger’s books isn’t quite to your taste, read the others! I can promise you that something will be.

Leave a Reply

