Friday Fragment Feature

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Pretty Cover, but far too tranquil for the contents

Pretty Cover, but far too tranquil for the contents

Enjoy!

Recently Completed:

Lord Demon by Roger Zelazny and Jane Lindskold.  It was weird.  I really got into this book and found myself forgetting that I was one of the authors.

Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.  Fun and fast-moving.  Lean, Mean Thirteen was more serious and I had the distinct impression the author wanted to have more opportunity to be silly.  I now have an urge to play Minion Fire.  Does it exist?

Someone Else’s Fairytale by E.M. Tippetts.  I started this one because it was by a local N.M. author whose work I wanted to try.  I finished because I really got into it.   The set-up sounds like a light rom-com.  Serious college student finds herself courted by popular movie star.  What won me were the complexities – many of which had nothing to do with romance.  Is there such a thing as a “relationship novel”?

In Progress:

The Adventures of English: The Biography of a Language by Melvyn Bragg.  Jim read this first and really enjoyed.  I’m only a couple chapters in and expect to stretch the read out over a couple very enjoyable weeks.

W is for Wasted by Sue Grafton.  Audiobook.

Within the Last Couple Months:

I’ve also been reading scatterings of mythology and bits from assorted craft books.

3 Responses to “Friday Fragment Feature”

  1. Paul Says:

    Hmm. I may have to read “Lord Demon” again soon.

  2. Alan Robson Says:

    You can’t go wrong with Melvyn Bragg. He also did a magnificent TV series on the subject.


    -Alan

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’m liking this a lot. One quibble… And the problem is not unique to Bragg. Just because the first appearance of a word occurs in an author’s work does not mean that author invented the word — especially when talking about works printed in Elizabethan times, when so many texts have been lost or survive only in corrupted versions.

      The word may have been in common use and this is simply the first surviving text in which it appears. However, there seems to be a desire to imagine that the first appearance in print is the first time anyone ever used a word. Bragg occasionally qualifies this point, but sometimes he lets his enthusiasm get away with him.

Leave a Reply

