FF: How To Be a Hero

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

This week, what it is to be a hero – and not just in the obvious fashion – keeps coming up.

Ogapoge Contemplates Tactics

Ogapoge Contemplates Tactics

What are you reading?

Recently Completed:

Tactics of Mistake by Gordon R. Dickson.  Somehow I missed this one.  I ended up liking it, although I must admit, the “Man of War” interests me less than the “Man of Philosophy” did.  Loved the idea that, to mercenaries, the rate of acceptable casualties should be zero.

Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  Percy was missing in The Lost Hero.  Now we know where he was.  I liked this one, especially how Riordan dealt with the challenge of not having Percy (who is a pretty major hero) overshadow the new characters.  The audio reader improved!

In Progress:

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  The seven are assembled.  What exactly is this mysterious “mark”?

A Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny.  Trying to hold to one chapter a day for the Twitter book club at #LonesomeOctober.  Finding this very difficult.

Land of Cinnamon Sun by John NizalowskiA collection of essays.  Just getting started.

Also:

I have a new craft book, Homemade: The Heart and Science of Handcrafts by Carol Endler Sterbenz, that includes histories of the various crafts.  I am enjoying reading these almost as much as contemplating trying some of the projects.

6 Responses to “FF: How To Be a Hero”

  1. Chad Merkley Says:

    I read Perelandra and That Hideous Strength by C.S. Lewis. Very interesting and very different books, especially when compared with Out of the Silent Planet. The first book of the series felt like and H.G. Wells story in a lot of ways, the second reminded me of Madeline L’Engle, and the third one of Susan Cooper. Anyone out there know if either of those authors has acknowledged Lewis as an influence?

    I also read Lock In by John Scalzi. It’s a good, fast-paced sci-fi novel. I also decided to be brave and try and read a novel in Spanish. The local library has a limited selection, so I ended up with El Leon, La Bruja, y El Ropero by C.S. Lewis. I frequently need a dictionary for nouns, and the dashes instead of quotation marks messes with my brain. I’ve worked my way through about a third of it so far.

    • Louis Robinson Says:

      That’s cheating! You already know the story, all you have to worry about is the words 😉

      • Chad Merkley Says:

        If you’re not cheating, you’re not trying. 🙂

      • Chad Merkley Says:

        Besides, there wasn’t a lot at the library, and Narnia seemed like it would be more enjoyable thatHarry Potter y El Caliz de Fuego (there’s supposed to be an accent above the a in caliz but the keyboard shortcuts that work in MS Word don’t work here).

        Actually, if anyone out there knows of any good young-adult novels originally written in Spanish, please let me know. I’m probably about at the equivalent of a 5th or 6th grade reading level.

  2. Jane Lindskold Says:

    Chad… Great comment about how different those three novels are.

    Spanish… Wow! I can piece my way through, but wouldn’t try a novel.

  3. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Just finished “The Falcons of Nerabedla” by Marion Zimmer Bradley. Thought she must have read Edmond Hamilton’s “The Star Kings” before she wrote it.

Leave a Reply

