FF: All Over the Place

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Sirenity Contemplates Bubo the Rat

Sirenity Contemplates Bubo the Rat

This week my reading is all over the place – even more than usual.

What are you reading?

Recently Completed:

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  Rambled a bit as Riordan tried to deal with the fact that he had seven really powerful protagonists and a limited framework for action.  Piper gets slighted.  Jason spends an amazing amount of time unconscious.  However, I did enjoy and plan to go onto the next book.

Dorsai by Gordon Dickson.  I really enjoyed this.  However, after having read three in a row, I’m troubled more now than I was originally by how little room there is for dynamic women in this future history.  Not enough to keep me from recommending, but it would be with a caveat.

In Progress:

A Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny.  Trying to hold to one chapter a day for the Twitter book club at #LonesomeOctober.  Finding this very difficult.

Land of Cinnamon Sun by John NizalowskiA collection of essays.  I’ve been reading an essay or so before bed.  Enjoying.

The Sphinx of the Ice Realm by Jules Verne, translated by Fredrick Paul Walter.  The first chapter is slow.  After that, it’s lots of fun.  The intro is good, but I think I’d suggest waiting to read it until after reading the novel.  The translators notes are great.  I have them bookmarked, so I can check them as they come up.

Smoking Seventeen by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.  I needed a change from teenage demigods.  This is quite the change!

Also:

Some Chinese mythology, especially about the Eight Immortals.  Not sure if it’s going to go anywhere, but fun nonetheless.

6 Responses to “FF: All Over the Place”

  1. Paul Says:

    Currently. “The Great Deyective Stories” edited by S. S. Van Dine (1931); some of the early ones. Better than I thought it would be so far.

  2. Rick Walter Says:

    Many thanks, Jane, for your friendly comments on my translation of Verne’s SPHINX OF THE ICE REALM. As for my own current reading, I’m on my 2nd pass (in as many weeks) of Desmond Seward’s RICHARD III: ENGLAND’S BLACK LEGEND. Lately Richard has been in the news, and it’s interesting that the pendulum has swung back and some scholars are again regarding him as Shakespeare’s virtuoso schemer, rather Josephine Tey’s maligned victim.

  3. Alan Robson Says:

    I’ve just read A Slip Of The Keyboard by Terry Pratchett. It’s a collection of essays about writing, about comedy, and about Pterry’s life. Necessarily the essays get rather grim towards the end of the book as he discusses the consequences of his alzheimers. I recommend the book highly.


    -Alan

  4. Chad Merkley Says:

    I didn’t get a lot of reading done this week. I finished reading The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe in Spanish. It was harder than I had anticipated. Apparently, my Spanish-Fu is weaker than I thought. I also read “The Captain’s Verses” by Pablo Neruda, in a bilingual edition.

    And since Alan Robson mentioned The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick in the last WW discussion, I grabbed it from the library and read it, finishing last night. Very interesting concept, and yet I found myself unsatisfied with the ending. I’m guessing that in some way, the author character in the book is an autobiographical reference to his mental health issues?

    • Alan Robson Says:

      I’m guessing that in some way, the author character in the book is an autobiographical reference to his mental health issues?

      That’s highly likely — though it’s difficult to be certain of anything with Philip K. Dick. He claimed that every time he had to resolve a plot point while he was writing the novel he consulted the I Ching to find out what he had to write next. So perhaps you should blame the ending, and maybe even the characterisations, on the instructions the I Ching gave him!


      -Alan

      • janelindskold Says:

        It would be lots of fun to actually use the I Ching to write a story and include the various readings at the end. Hmm… I have a project pending. Maybe I should!

Leave a Reply

