FF: Clariel, Hades, Utena, October

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Silver Wonders About Snakes

Silver Wonders About Snakes

This week has been an interesting one…

Tell me what you’re reading!

Recently Completed:

Clariel by Garth Nix.  As I hoped, this novel stood well on its own.  I was particularly delighted with the world building.  Unlike far too many fantasy worlds, this one does not have a stagnant culure.  However, it does prove to have some interesting connections to the later books.  WARNING: The author’s note contains a spoiler.  Do not read first.

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  Stronger than the previous book.  I particularly liked Nico’s encounter with Cupid, and the tension over Bob the Titan.

Land of Cinnamon Sun by John NizalowskiA collection of essays.  I particularly liked “Medea in America.”

Revolutionary Girl Utena the manga, by Chiho Saito and Be-Papas (the latter is a studio).  Jim gave me the updated anime DVD set for my birthday. This made me decide to re-read the manga for comparison/contrast purposes.  The DVD set included several essays and interviews that finally clarified how and why the two works were produced in parallel.  Fascinating, at least to me.

In Progress:

A Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny.  Still trying to hold to one chapter a day for the Twitter book club at #LonesomeOctober.  The chapters are getting longer, the story more complex.

A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix.  Audiobook.  Just started.

Coming Home by Jack McDevitt.  The latest Alex Benedict and Chase Kolpath.  Just started.

Also:

I’ve now re-read my first five short stories and written afterpieces for them.  Am about to start skipping around a bit more.

One Response to “FF: Clariel, Hades, Utena, October”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I may have read all those stories of Jane’s stories but I’ll enjoy them again– and I’m really looking forward to the afterwords. I like knowing the stories behind the stories!

Leave a Reply

