FF: Graves, Apples, and Dream Thieves

Welcome to my side of a book chat…

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Lilybett Reads

Lilybett Reads

What are you reading?

Recently Completed:

Forerunner by Andre Norton.  Future archeology and cool characters.  I’d read this decades ago, but have never read the sequel, which I have waiting.

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones.  Audiobook. Charley Davidson is the Grim Reaper…  Charley has PTSD from events in the previous book.  That only makes sense.  What makes less sense is why she continues to be turned on by violence on the part of her lovers.  Disconnect!  Very neat twist in one plotline.

Poison Apples: Poems for You My Pretty by Christine Heppermann.  Using free verse and fairy tale motifs, the author takes on the modern “beauty myth” and shows that what we all think of as a “new” problem maybe isn’t so new after all.  Very short volume.  Often punchy.

Notorious Nineteen by Janet Evanovich.  Audiobook.  After behaving very slutty (her own word) in the previous two books, Stephanie is back to thinking about who her actions might hurt – including herself.  I found myself wondering if Ms Evanovich got some negative reaction to the prior novels.

In Progress:

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.  Sequel to the excellent The Raven Boys.  I’d put off reading this in hope our library would get the audio version, but couldn’t wait any longer.  Dark – but the good dark that comes from shutting your eyes and digging around in your soul.

Takedown Twenty by Janet Evanovich.  Right now my greatest interest is in where the giraffe is hiding and why no one  is talking about it.

Also:

This week was a mess of small jobs, so the short stories have been on hold.  Where does time go?

2 Responses to “FF: Graves, Apples, and Dream Thieves”

  1. Paul Says:

    I’m finding more and more rewards in re-reading books I read decades ago, including some by Andre Norton.

  2. janelindskold Says:

    Sometimes this is indeed rewarding… Other times I can’t get my head back to where I was when I read a given book and find myself wondering “Why did I ever like that?”

Leave a Reply

