What Would Miss Marple Think of Charly?

It’s been busy, so I’ve been “reading” more via audio…  How do you handle the busy times?

The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

Guinea Pigs Don't Read Books?

Guinea Pigs Don’t Read Books?

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Trip to Echo Spring: On Writers and Drinking by Olivia Lang.  Non-fiction.  A remarkably well-written and fascinating look at several American writers (Tennessee Williams, John Cheever, Ernest Hemmingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Raymond Carver) and the role of alcohol in their lives.  Neither preachy nor apologetic in tone.  The inclusion of medical information on how alcohol works on the brain – and why those workings would be particularly appealing to these men was a great element in the puzzle.

Fifth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones.  Audiobook.  Weak start.  Charly and Reyes’ sex life still annoys me.  However, the novel changed focus about half-way in, introducing some interesting prophesies.  I’ll probably continue on to Number Six.

4:50 from Paddington and A Murder is Announced by Agatha Christie.  Audiobooks.  All my holds refused to come in – I’m now Number 1 on the list for three different audiobooks! – so I quickly downloaded a couple old friends.  I love Miss Marple.

Some Chinese Ghosts by Lafcadio Hearn.  Short but interesting.

In Progress:

The Stainless Steel Rat by Harry Harrison. Audiobook.  Alan Robson’s mention in his wot i red on my hols column of a recent autobiography of Harrison gave me a desire to re-read.

Also:

Got the proofs for Artemis Invaded done and off to Tor.  I’ve been doing a lot of research reading, including an atlas so large I need to put it on a table to look at it.

3 Responses to “What Would Miss Marple Think of Charly?”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Can’t go wrong with Dame Agatha. When you asked what she’d think of Charly, I thought you’d been re-reading “Flowers for Algernon.” I usually have too many interruptions at home for audiobooks but certainly listen to a lot of them while driving. How do some of you others feel about audiobooks vs. printed (or e- ) books?

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I love audiobooks. They save me from not being able to read at all when life gets so busy that the only time I can grab to read print is when I’m in bed.

      Quality of the reader makes a big impact, of course, but the standard for a reader is going up all the time. The are a couple readers who make weak writers seem much stronger than they are!

  2. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Yes! Tony Roberts, a reader, got me reading Stuart Woods’ “Stone Barrington” books. Never would have, otherwise. I still prefer hearing Roberts do them.

Leave a Reply

