FF: Beginnings, Endings, and Old Ghosts

The holiday season has just gotten more complicated with the arrival of the mass market proofs for Artemis Awakening.  But that’s proofing, not reading…

Wondering what the FF is about?  The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

Ogapoge in Contemplation

Ogapoge in Contemplation

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Land of Dreams by Vidar Sunstol, translated from Norwegian by Tiina Nunnally.  I seriously loved this book.  It’s part detective story, part family story, part…  Is it a ghost story, or is our stressed cop going nuts?  Although the first book in the “Minnesota Trilogy,” I felt it stood well on its own.  I’m definitely reading book two.  Highly recommended.

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  I enjoyed this conclusion to the second story arc.  Riordan does a good job with his very large cast.  The gods are still jerks…

In Progress:

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones.  Audiobook.  So far no rough sex in this one.  Yay!  Supernatural elements are becoming more important, as are character interactions.  Stronger, I think, than the previous two in the series.

Nobody’s Damsel by E.M. Tippets.  What happens after “happily ever after”?   Well, when the courtship is whirlwind, a lot of past history still needs to be resolved.  Throw in an ugly kidnapping to awaken our protagonist’s worst memories and you have the ingredients for a gripping tale.

Also:

Well, those proofs are looming over my head.  I’d rather read cookie recipes!

5 Responses to “FF: Beginnings, Endings, and Old Ghosts”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I wish I could read as fast as you. Or listen to more audio… Alone in the car is the only place it works for me.

    • janelindskold Says:

      I listen to a lot of audio books when doing cooking etc. I have a base station in my kitchen so I can hook up my MP3 player and not need to wear a headset.

      The advantage has been that Jim often hears parts of a book, gets interested, and tries a new book or author.

  2. Alan Robson Says:

    I’ve not read much for the last few weeks because of moving house. But nevertheless…

    Spike by Pauline Scudamore — a biography of Spike Milligan, one of my heroes.

    Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell — a weird novel about a mafia hit man who is also a medical doctor. Very funny and dark.

    How the World Was One by Arthur C. Clarke. This is a re-read of Clarke’s fascinating non-fiction book about the rise of global communications in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.


    -Alan

Leave a Reply

