FF: Holiday Reads

I had other plans, but I ended up picking out a couple books with holiday themes.

Wondering what the FF is about?  The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.Christmas Stockings

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones.  Audiobook.  Supernatural elements are become more important.  Character interactions  more complex.  Definitely stronger than the previous two in the series.

Nobody’s Damsel by E.M. Tippets.  Sequel to Somebody Else’s Fairytale takes the series in a different, enjoyable direction.  If you want to learn more about the author, check out this recent interview.

Hogfather by Terry Pratchett.  Why do we need imaginary creatures in our lives?  You might be surprised…

In Progress:

The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper.  Not a Christmas books as much as  a book set at Christmas.  I am very fond of this tale.

The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Miles finds himself longing for the “simpler” days of his previous adventures.  That pretty much says it all!

Also:

I gave in and read cookie recipes: sugar cookies, butterballs, maple pecan slices, meringues, peanut butter, lemon bars…  Now I have something to eat while I read the proofs for Artemis Awakening in preparation for the mass market release!

6 Responses to “FF: Holiday Reads”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    What a neat idea, linking to the author’s interview. I didn’t get much reading done over Christmas week. We were visiting family and there was little down time.

  2. janelindskold Says:

    My family is very inclined to read so, even with Mom here and lots going on, we did a bit of reading.

  3. Chad Merkley Says:

    I read four Jack McDevitt novels this last week or two–Polaris, Seeker, A Talent for War, & Ancient Shores. Seeker was definitely my favorite out of the bunch. Maybe because the ultimate goal/mystery was bigger and more important than in the others. Ancient Shores reminded me of The Visitors by Simak in tone and theme. Very different resolutions, though. The library has a bunch more by McDevitt, so I’ll be working my way through those.

    I was given a copy of Changer’s Daughter for Christmas, but I need to track down a copy of Changer first. Amazon’s price for it has dropped a by almost a third since the last time I looked at it. So now’s the time to grab it and run…

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      If you’re interested in CHANGER you might consider buying the new edition I brought out. (It’s the one with the coyote on the cover, rather than the vaguely southwestern design on the original paperback.

      There’s an introduction talking about how I came to write the novel…

  4. Jane Lindskold Says:

    Chad… That’s lovely! I didn’t change the price, though. Must go look. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

