The Line Between Fiction and Non-Fiction

News Flash: A new interview talking about recent projects and older influences was just posted.  You might enjoy.

Wondering what the FF is about?  The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

Persephone Contemplates the Winding Circle

Persephone Contemplates the Winding Circle

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper.  Myth and legend intertwine with beautiful prose in this book.  Added bonus: It’s a perfect read for cold weather.

The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  I enjoyed the twists and turns in this one, especially the chance to get to know Emperor Gregor a bit better.

Carol Milne: Knitted Glass by Steve Isaacson.  A short book that provides a fascinating look at an intricate artistic process.

I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll, Except When I Hate It by Brian Boone.  A amusing look at some Rock and Roll trivia.  The author has a sardonic tone that works well – as long as the reader knows something about the subject matter.  I found myself musing what would happen if someone cited this as if it was a wholly scholarly work, instead of a work that is scholarly up until the author can’t resist a joke.

In Progress:

Cetaganda by Lois Mc Master Bujold.  Audiobook.  Miles shows a tendency to seek out trouble.

Also:

Still reading the proofs for the mass market edition of Artemis Awakening.  If you didn’t read my WW this week, do so.  It will explain why the job is taking me so long!

4 Responses to “The Line Between Fiction and Non-Fiction”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I’m seriously behind on my reading. Closing in on finishing “The Two-Bit Culture,” a history of paperbacks in America, which I’ve been reading in spurts between other books. From it, I learned that I was born at just the right time to take advantage of the burgeoning paperback move as I was moving on from comic books. Without that two-bit cover price, back then I could never have afforded to read what I did.

  2. Chad Merkley Says:

    A quote from the interview linked at the beginning of Jane’s post:

    “I have a Ph.D. in Literature. Most people assume this helped me to become a writer. Actually, it proved to be more a hindrance. The things that English professors love – ambivalent endings, layers of symbolism, complex and contradictory images – are things that drive most “real” readers nuts.”

    Jane, I’d be interested in hearing more about this issue. Why do English professors love those things? What defines “literature”? I do remember vaguely remember some WW posts about light reading versus serious reading, and related issues, but I think it might be worth discussing again.

    This week I read Changer and <Changer's Daughter. I enjoyed them both. I stayed up till 3:30 am to finish the second one. I think I detected a Zelazny influence in tone and setting–I found similarities to both Amber and Lord Demon–that seems to have changed in Jane’s later work. But I haven’t read all that much Zelazny. I haven’t had luck finding copies of him locally. I may have to just splurge on Amazon or ABE one of these days.

    I also read a couple of McDevitt’s Alex Benedict novels and a couple of Patricia McKillip’s.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Hey Chad, I’ll take up your suggestion for this Wednesday Wandering. Thanks!

      As I mentioned in the intro, CHANGER was influenced by my moving to NM. It’s really hard to say where and when Roger’s work was an influence because one of the things that drew us together was that we loved a lot of the same things. For example, we were both mythology junkies from a young age.

      I don’t see any real similarities to Amber, but I may be blind to them — writers are often blind to similarities. For example, Roger didn’t realize the impact Henry Kuttner’s novel THE DARK WORLD had on Amber until I pointed it out to him. (After he gave me a copy, ironically.)

      LORD DEMON was the book I wrote immediately after CHANGER, so doubtless there are similarities in tone and nuance. However, I think LORD DEMON is more a Roger book in it’s interest in outlandish settings, pocket universes, weird weapons with weirder names etc.

      CHANGER is more, to me, rooted in reality.

      Wow! Did I go on. Thanks for the neat comment.

  3. Emily Tippetts (@EMTippetts) Says:

    I’m glad to know you’ll expound on this, Jane. It’s a perspective on reading that a lot of people agree with, but few say out loud. Too many people find English class a drag without really gaining much insight into what it is about literature that is worth studying.

Leave a Reply

