FF: Read On!

Winter View Outside My Window

Winter View Outside My Window

Despite our usual warm trend — the one that makes me hope the cold is going to quit early — it’s still winter.  So why not climb into a good book?

For those of you who are new to this feature, the FF feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  They are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.

This is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

A Brother’s Cold Case by Dennis Herrick.  A good mystery with lots of local NM color.

Memory by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  I really liked this one, possibly best of those I’ve read so far.  One line stuck with me: “The one thing you can’t trade for your heart’s desire is your heart.”

Forerunner: The Second Venture by Andre Norton.  Much longer and somewhat less vivid than the first book in the series.

In Progress:

Komarr by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Just starting.

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples.  Graphic novel.  Just starting.

Also:

More of my own short fiction.  I’m almost done selecting pieces for the collection, but I need to write an introduction.  And then start going over everything again!

Several of the books I’ve read or listened to this month have been because of recommendations from friends.  (Chad, thanks for talking up Memory!  Sally and Tori, thanks for the loans.)

What are you reading?

7 Responses to “FF: Read On!”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    In progress: “Alive,” Loren Estleman, mystery set in Hollywood involving lost Frankenstein film with Bela Lugosi. Hasn’t grabbed me yet but it’s early. Listening to: “They Came to Baghdad,” Agatha Christie. So far, a little complicated and hard to follow, jumping around to various characters; hope it will focus soon.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      _They Came to Bagdad_ does eventually resolve, but it’s definitely not one of Christie’s novels where the reader is reassured that someone is in control.

  2. JohnnyP! Says:

    Rereading “Akira” by Katsuhiro Otomo 😆

  3. Chad Merkley Says:

    Glad you enjoyed Memory. That’s the point in the series where Miles really came alive for me. I enjoyed the rest of the series as well.

    I read Time Travelers Never Die by McDevitt, The Cassandra Project by McDevitt and Resnick, and Heritage of Cyador by Modessit.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I will definitely keep reading. Interesting to see Bujold expanding her POVs and using other techniques to keep the books from becoming stale.

      And you’re making me want to go re-read a bunch of McDevitt!

Leave a Reply

