FF: Too Much to Put on a Coffee Mug

This week I tried an experiment…

But, before I get to it, let me clarify for those of you who are new to this feature.  The FF feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website.  Go to the pull down menu under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.  And I’d love to hear what you’re reading!

Kel Contemplates Murder

Kel Contemplates Murder

Recently Completed:

A Fashion for Shrouds by Margery Allingham.  Audiobook.  A classic mystery in her Albert Campion series.  Even though I know “whodunit” and even why, the language is so glorious I was sorry whenever I had to turn it off.

A Holiday for Murder by Agatha Christie.  I discovered this one when I was still babysitting – back more years ago than I care to admit.  This may have been one of the first of her novels I read.  I remembered the plot being twisty and clever.  I was right!

Year of the Griffin by Diana Wynne Jones.  Sequel to The Dark Lord of Derkholm, set eight years later.  I really enjoyed.  Introduces great new characters without forgetting to address the ramifications of events in the prior book.

In Progress:

A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Just started.

Gray Heroes: Elder Tales from Around the World edited by Jane Yolen.  I bought this years ago and have dipped in from time to time.  I’ve resolved to read the whole thing.  Just finished the Wisdom Tales and am into Tricksters.

Also:

Here’s where the experiment comes in…

Up to this point, I’ve only used our Kindle for work.  I decided to try it for pleasure.  I’ve read “The Sky Riders” by Paul Dellinger and Mike Allen,  “Magic of the Rose” by Scot Noel, and am now reading Rowan Derrick’s Master’s thesis on the motif of the post-nuclear wasteland.

So far, I prefer paper because I can have two pages in front of me, rather than having to keep turning.  (I read very fast.)  That said, it’s not horrible and I can see the device’s appeal, especially for travel.

Oh…  And why did I mention a coffee mug in the title to this week’s entry?  Baen Books put up a picture of a mug on Twitter that said: “I’m currently reading” and invited you to fill in the blank.  No way I could have listed  the three books I’m concurrently reading!

5 Responses to “FF: Too Much to Put on a Coffee Mug”

  1. JM6 Says:

    I’ve had a Kindle for several years and alternate between paper and electronic. Usually, my ebook reading was limited to free stories online that I copied into a file to read on my Kindle (because I dislike reading stories on a computer, Kindle is easier on the eyes), shorter works by authors that aren’t in paper form (or are too expensive in paper), and older free works from places like Project Gutenberg. However, I found the true value of the ebook reader in my current situation. I am in China for 5 months and the Kindle allowed me to bring a very large library of reading material with me in a compact form instead of a steamer trunk full of paper books. Do I miss the feel of a paperback in my hands? Yes. Given a choice, however, between 2 paperbacks for 5 months or dozens (hundreds) of stories on my Kindle in the same space, the choice is clear. I might actually FINALLY get around to reading Jane Austen, H.G. Wells, Lord Dunsany, and the complete Sherlock Holmes canon while I’m here.

  2. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I’ve used Kindle for some of the “classics” I never got around to reading, like “A Tale of Two Cities,” “Pride and Prejudice,” etc. Most of those are free. And, as for reading them, many would say it’s about time.

  3. Alan Robson Says:

    The major advantage of an electronic device for reading your books is the sheer number of books that you can carry around with you. This becomes handy when you arrange to meet a friend somewhere. Make sure that you arrive early, then sit down and start reading one of your eboooks. When your friend arrives, look up and say casually, “I wasn’t sure what time you’d turn up, so I brought 5000 books with me just in case…”

    Oneupmanship is fun!

    Is “kindle” becoming a generic word like “xerox” or “hoover”? I know lots of people who have e-readers of some sort. Very few of the devices are actually kindles, nevertheless the word is often used.

    An interesting trend that I’ve noticed is that fewer and fewer people seem to use dedicated devices like kindles for their e-reading any more. Most people of my acquaintance now use some sort of tablet instead because they prefer the flexibility of a device that has multiple uses. I have a Samsung Galaxy and my wife uses a Nexus.


    -Alan

    • Peter Says:

      The “carrying around” advantage becomes even stronger when one moves house. The journey of a thousand li begins with a single step, but that step is a lot easier to take when one’s library fits on a thumb drive rather than a convoy of moving trucks.

Leave a Reply

