FF: What Works, What Doesn’t

This past week, Jim and I decided to read rather than watch anything.  So  more print, less audio!

The FF feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

Ogapoge Dreams of Ninja Rockers

Ogapoge Dreams of Ninja Rockers

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look under Neat Stuff on my website.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.  And I’d love to hear what you’re reading!

Recently Completed:

Year of the Griffin by Diana Wynne Jones.  Sequel to The Dark Lord of Derkholm, set eight years later.  I loved it.  I wanted it to be a whole lot longer, though.

Naruto by  Masashi Kishimoto.  Manga.  Issues 65-67.  I’ve been reading this one for a long time and, unlike so many series, instead of getting weaker, it gets stronger, perhaps because the author is no longer forced to standard tropes.

Soul Music by Terry Pratchett.  Jim and I had been watching some rock documentaries, which gave me a desire to re-read the tale of Music With Rocks In and the Discworld.  Pratchett’s novels are wonderful and I’m not afraid to admit that when the new broke yesterday that he had died, I started crying.

The Game by Diana Wynne Jones.  Released in hard cover from Firebird Press, this novella has an almost magical realism feel.  Recommended.

In Progress:

A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Mixed feelings.  This novel has some really neat biological/political material.  However, it also has everything in it that makes me hate romance novels.    I’m interested enough to keep going, though I’m beginning to wonder if I need to skip to print, so I can skim all the romance stupid.  Please note.  This is NOT a slam on the book.  I simply have a lower than average tolerance for the same romance novel tropes that make them a perennially popular form.

Gray Heroes: Elder Tales from Around the World edited by Jane Yolen.  I bought this years ago and have dipped in from time to time.  I’ve resolved to read the whole thing.  I’m into the final section now.  These are best read with a little space between.

Also:

I’m reading up for my talk at UNM on April 1st.  Also, a heck of a lot of my own stuff with various future projects in mind.

8 Responses to “FF: What Works, What Doesn’t”

  1. Heteromeles Says:

    You weren’t the only one who was teary-eyed yesterday. There are a lot of memorials around the web, from Neil Gaiman, Charles Stross, NPR, even XKCD. He touched a lot of people.

  2. Paul Says:

    I do all audio books in the car, so they take a while unless I’m on a trip. Too much interference around the house.

  3. Chad Merkley Says:

    I have several unrelated comments about this week.

    So, first–I’m very sad about Sir Terry. I think re-reading I Shall Wear Midnight might be a good memorial. Or maybe I need to finally getting around to putting a “Monstrous Medley” together–taking a bunch of the songs mentioned in Monstrous Regiment and putting them together: “The Girl I left Behind Me”, “Sweet Polly Oliver”, “The World Turned Upside Down”, “The Devil will be my Sergeant”…There’s probably a couple more I’m not remembering. But they’re all real songs. I should get on that.

    Second: I agree that A Civil Campaign is weaker than some of the other Vorkosigan books, but I still think it’s fun. Diplomatic Immunity and Cryoburn are great, though.

    Third: I was looking at the cover art for A Beautiful Friendship, Fire Season and Treecat Wars and noticed that on the first two, the artist, Dan Dos Santos, had hidden his initials “DS” in plain sight–on Stephanie’s belt and Jessica’s boot. I couldn’t find the initials on the TW cover, though, but it’s a darker image, and they may have been obscured during the composition process. I checked the artist’s website to see if I could find hidden initials, but I didn’t (although I did recognize several other book covers). But I’m still wondering if there’s a “DS” I’m missing somewhere.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Interesting about the initials! I never noticed. Now I need to look.

      I’m not giving up on Miles and friends. As I said, I just happen to have an even shorter fuse for romance tropes than I do for vampires. (You can imagine how I feel about Vampire Romance novels.)

  4. Lori Fuglem Says:

    Hi Jane, I have been reading Soul Music too, in tears much of the time, since the news broke. It was the first of his that I read, and one I recommended to my daughter, who was a non-reader in high school at the time. Not only did she love it, but copped some “cool points” from other people who recognized it. Bon voyage, great one! –Lori F

Leave a Reply

