FF: Flavors of Faerie

Purely by accident, I ended up reading two novels dealing with the Fay – and focusing on how not very nice the “little people” are, even when they’re being friendly…

Adara (the terrier) Contemplates her namesake, Adara the Huntress

Adara (the terrier) contemplates her name-giver, Adara the Huntress

For those of you who are new to this piece… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Lords and Ladies by Terry PratchettI’d just finished reading Soul Music when I learned Pratchett had died, so I picked up this one just because…  It’s very good, but if you’re stuck on Tolkienesque elves, I don’t recommend.  These are definitely more myffic.

War for the Oaks by Emma Bull.  I picked this one up because I wanted to double-check a detail for this week’s Wandering on Kick-Ass Female Characters.  I ended up re-reading the whole novel.  As with Lords and Ladies, Bull’s “faerie” folk owe their source to a complex and sometimes very dark brew of myth and legend.

In Progress:

Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  So far, quite interesting…

Also:

Far, far, far too much proofreading…

One Response to “FF: Flavors of Faerie”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I completely understand about the self-proofreading!

Leave a Reply

