FF: Landscapes of Change

For those of you who are new to this piece… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Kel Attempts to Keep Me from Reading

Kel Wonders What I’m Reading

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  I liked this one.  Bujold deserve praise for the skill she shows  in writing a later book in a series, in which characters from earlier in the series are reintroduced.  So many authors would either fall into info-dump or so little detail a newer reader is confused.  She walks the balance with grace.

Beyond the Blast: Wasteland and Shelter in Nuclear Fiction.  A Master’s thesis by my friend, Rowan Derrick.  Fascinating and intelligent treatment of a complex topic.

In Progress:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.  Audiobook.  A fascinating, complexly structured novel.  I’m really fascinated.

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison.  Just started.  Already has violated clichéd expectations.  That’s good.

Also:

Still spending a lot of time reading my own stuff…

3 Responses to “FF: Landscapes of Change”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I’ve got to read some Marcia Muller for our library’s mystery book club next week. Given the time, I’ve just downloaded two inexpensive short stories by her on Kindle. Ought to be able to get those read.

  2. Chad Merkley Says:

    I have to gush about a young adult novel I finished yesterday: The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex. It’s about an alien invasion of Earth, from the viewpoint of an eleven-year-old girl. It’s absolutely hilarious, touching, clever, and even reaches towards profound at places. It’s just been adapted into a movie called Home, which I haven’t seen, but several reviews mentioned the book very positively, and I happened to notice the book on the library shelf the other day.

Leave a Reply

