FF: Enjoyably Mixed

This last week, everything I’m reading is because someone recommended it to me!  So far, no duds.

Lilies Toil Not.  Do They Read?

Lilies Toil Not. Do They Read?

Just in case you don’t know… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.  Audiobook.  A fascinating, complexly structured novel.  I’m still considering how I felt about the last twenty-five percent or so.  Still, if you like post-apocalyptic novels, this is a good one.

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison.  I really liked this one.  Although marketed as “fantasy,” probably because the two races involved are called, for no apparent reason I could figure out, “elves” and “goblins” – Are pointy ears enough? – it’s a solid novel of political intrigue with complex characters.  Ms. Addison runs counter to a current trend in political fiction that assumes everyone will be as nasty as possible.  There’s plenty of vinegar here, but she doesn’t forget the value of honey.

Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief by Wendelin VanDraanen.  A mystery series that bridges the middle-grade into YA age group nicely – and still had a lot of appeal for this far from YA reader.  I’ll be continuing to read about Sammy and her adventures.

In Progress:

Deep Secrets by Diana Wynne Jones.  When Alan mentioned this one to me when we were writing our Tangents, I realized I hadn’t read it.  I’m about half-way in and enjoying.  A bonus is the lovingly realistic – although not at all snarky – depiction of the complex culture of an SF convention.

CryoBurn by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  A good mixture of SF speculation and intrigue, salted with humor.

Also:

The beginning of the month always brings in new magazines…

Leave a Reply

