FF: Where Have All the Hours Gone?

News Flash: The sale on the e-book of Changer for only 99 cents is winding down.  Sale ends May 2.

Lots of catching up and friends visiting from out of town, so I didn’t get nearly as much time to read.  But I’m writing – including a new short story – so I can’t complain.

Just in case you don’t know… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Time Racing By!

Time Racing By!

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Pinhoe Egg by Diana Wynne Jones.  Audiobook.  Although there was good closure, I found I had questions.  How did the Pinhoes manage to hide their secret so long with Chrestomanci Castle so near?   Had Gaffer Farley done something new?  What did I miss?

Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan issues 20-24 by Hiroshi Shiibashi.  Manga.  Not one of the most innovative as to plot and characters, but the inclusion of a wide variety of supernatural creatures and tie-in to past history keeps me interested.

In Progress:

The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex.  Audiobook.  Just started.  Recommended by Chad Merkley, a reader of the Friday Fragments!

Also:

I haven’t gotten to the The Tao de Ching.  Too tired by the time I get to bed.

And lots of scattered research for three different projects!

3 Responses to “FF: Where Have All the Hours Gone?”

  1. Peter Says:

    The Tao that can be read before going to sleep is not the true Tao.

  2. Chad Merkley Says:

    How is Smekday working as an audiobook? I would think the scrapbook-like interpolations and illustrations would not do well in audio.

    I liked The Pinhoe Egg. The plot is perhaps not as tight as could be. I think the answer to your questions comes from the combination of the horse, Cat, and dwimmer, as well as the sudden feud between the Farleighs and Pinhoes.

    I just read Someplace to be Flying by Charles de LInt. A very good book. Urban fantasy mixed with traditional mythology, very cleverly. The Cuckoo mythos mixed with Native American myths seemed off to me though. American cuckoos are not parasitic. The connection between European and American myths was not made clear. But that’s just me being picky.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      So far it’s doing very well. The reader has put a ton of effort into providing a unique accent for the aliens.

      I adore SOMEPLACE TO BE FLYING, irrationally and crazily… Charles deLint has written many good books, many great books, but that one somehow speaks to me.

Leave a Reply

