Patchwork of Images

Color One, Shades of Green and Gold:

Thanks to those of you who took advantage of the sale for Changer in e-book form.  On April 30th alone, over 1,400 copies were sold, just on Amazon.com.  This enabled me to recoup my advertising investment with a little left over.

Shidoni's Timeless Gardens

Shidoni’s Timeless Gardens

However, even more important to me was that now more people know that both Changer and Changer’s Daughter (previously released as Legends Walking) are available.  For those of you who prefer print books – as I do myself – they’re also available as trade paperbacks via Amazon Create Space.

I was particularly thrilled when, on their own initiative, both Charles deLint and Terri Windling helped push out the signal.  Since they’re pretty much the gods of Urban Fantasy (old form), this was the sort of shout-out guaranteed to leave a smile.

One thing this adventure into advertising taught me is how hard it is to get out the word that a book exists.  Over and over again, via both social media and e-mail, people thanked me for making Changer available again – as if this was a newly released reprint.

The thing is, I first released Changer as an e-book back late in 2011.  It has been there for the searching but, like so many things, out of sight, out of mind.  The advertisement brought it back into sight – although, apparently only for a short period.  Although discount continued for a couple more days, the bulk of the sales were on that first day.

Then, I guess, it drifted back out of sight.  An interesting experiment, but definitely not a way to keep people buying…

Color Two, Bright and Multi-hued, with Buttons:

What else did I do this week?  Hmm…  I finished the rough draft of a short story.  I’ll tell you more when it’s not rough.  I’m a bit superstitious that way.

I also wrote an amazing amount of non-fiction on topics as widely varied as elves and dental implants.

Color Three, Bronze and Bright Orange:

I spent a day in Santa Fe, celebrating Jim’s birthday.  We went with friends out to Shidoni foundry.  They pour bronze sculptures and have an amazing sculpture garden.

There’s an associated glassblowing studio.  We were lucky enough to arrive just as one of the artists was beginning a piece.  Although the studio got pretty hot, we stayed for a long while, watching molten glass turn into a vase.  While I watched, I thought about Kai Wren, the protagonist of Lord Demon, one of the two novels I finished for Roger Zelazny.

I thought a bit about Roger, too, since the first time I went to Shidoni was with him, nearly twenty years ago.  Shidoni is a sort of timeless place.  Hard to imagine so much time has passed.

Color Four, Business Casual Meets Santa Fe Style:

Later, Jim and I got dressed up and went to the grand opening celebrations for the new Drury hotel in Santa Fe.  Jim had been in charge of the archeological clearance for the site, in the course of which he and his crew found, among other things, remnants of one of the oldest roads in Santa Fe, pre-dating 1680.

I was pleased – although not very surprised, since I have a high opinion of Jim – that everyone we met whom he had worked with greeted him with enthusiasm and wanted to chat.  It became obvious that, among all these hard-working, dedicated, and talented people, Jim stood out as something of a magician.  They were remodeling a landmark building into a high end hotel.  He was pulling the past out of the ground and making them see the shadows of events gone by.

Quilt Completed:

Out of this busy week, I patch together a quilt, a bit chaotic in pattern, and yet, as I spread it out and study the elements, a very attractive array indeed!

12 Responses to “Patchwork of Images”

  1. Peter Says:

    A lot of electrons have been spilled on discussion of the “discoverability problem”, mostly as it relates to new, especially independently-published, authors. Most of that discussion skips past the fact that it’s just as big an issue when it comes to re- (or first digital) publication of backlist titles. I’m quite certain that there are dozens, even hundreds, of backlist titles currently available that I’d happily buy new electronic copies of (especially if they were reasonably priced). Finding them is the thorny bit. (My confidence stems from the fact that every time I spend a rainy afternoon crawling around Amazon, Smashwords, Bookview Cafe, and googling names to see what pops up I always manage to find at least half a dozen titles.)

    And now your second quilt square has me wondering just exactly what kind of dental appliances elves use, and what they use them for. And, coming full circle, wishing I could quickly and easily grab replacement copies of Lord Demon and Donnerjack…

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Although LORD DEMON and DONNERJACK are not available as e-books, I do have some hard copies for sale. Take a look at my website bookstore for details.

      • Peter Says:

        Oh, I still have my paper copies (they’re among the handful that survived the Great Purge when I switched my library to digital). I’d just like to replace them with electronic copies to free up a bit of space, and I’d happily buy them again for the privilege of doing so 🙂

  2. Jay M. Says:

    If Charles deLint and Terri Windling are “the gods of Urban Fantasy (old form)” (no argument from me), that raises a question: what do you think are the differences between the old form and the new form of urban fantasy, and do we have any ideas who the new gods are (or might be)? Or are gods something we can only see in hindsight … which makes for an interesting viewpoint on religion?

  3. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I still have my paper copies as well, but it’s good to know electronic backup is available. There seem to be as many sub-genres of fantasy these days as there are of science fiction…or mysteries, romances, and on and on. But regardless of the sub-genre, they all end up in the fantasy, SF, mystery, romance or whatever section of the bookstore. I remember with fondness the long-ago spinner rack in the newsstand of my boyhood, where you looked at *everything* and often found a gem in a “genre” you’d never tried.

  4. Nicholas Wells Says:

    Call me crazy, but it’s refreshing to know even the established authors have a hard time spreading word. It makes the struggles for us rookies feel less about our lack of experience.

    Sounds like a busy week though. Always good and bad. Good for the things done, bad for the drain it can sometimes be.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Hey… Glad to be “heartening.” Peter makes some good points above. It’s not your struggle alone.

      And although being a lone wolf is all dramatic in fiction. In real life, it’s good to have a pack.

  5. Laura Leist Says:

    Changer is one of my all-time favorite books. I purchased e-copies back in 2011 when I first read that you had both available, and also new paper copies. I have given Changer as a gift to multiple people over the years, as well.

    When I saw your recent sale announcement, I passed it along to my sister, who’s children love the Rick Riordan books, as a better and grown-up story of gods in the modern world… But I don’t know if she purchased it. (I hope she did – I am sure she would enjoy it!)

    In any case, Changer, and Changer’s Daughter are on my re-read shelf so to speak, and having an e-copy to turn to is definitely a pleasure.

    If you are willing to share, it would be great to see a picture of your quilt?

    Thanks,
    Laura

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Thank you, Laura… I’ve enjoyed the Percy Jackson books a lot and hope your family members enjoy.

      Ah… The quilt was not a physical thing. It was a patchwork of images, as the title says. I’m very glad it seemed real to you…

Leave a Reply

