FF: Some Very Odd People

I feel as if I’m missing something, but for now this will have to do.

Just in case you don’t know… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

Ogapoge Snags My Books for Himself!

Ogapoge Snags My Books for Himself!

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex.  Audiobook.  Really enjoyed this.  It walked the delicate line between silly and intense.  Kids and adults alike will enjoy the quirky characters.  Adults will get a kick out of the commentary on the value system in the modern U.S.  Recommended by Chad Merkley, a reader of the Friday Fragments!  Thank you, Chad!

Eight Days of Luke by Diana Wynne Jones.  This one came up when Alan and I were writing about Diana Wynne Jones for the Thursday Tangents.  I had to re-read.  Translating the gods of Norse mythology into modern England makes for some very odd characters.

In Progress:

Dune by Frank Herbert.  A re-read, but probably not for at least ten years…

Earwig and the Witch by Diana Wynne Jones.  Audiobook.  Just started.  It’s short, so I’ll probably be done tonight.

Also:

Lots of  research and the usual beginning of the month magazine deluge.

2 Responses to “FF: Some Very Odd People”

  1. Chad Merkley Says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed Smekday! I’ve been enjoying a lot of your recommendations, and it’s nice to return the favor.

    I’m still working through as much DWJ as I can find. So much variety! A few generalizations about her work, as I see it: I think her female POV characters tend to be stronger and more engaging than the males (See Crown of Dalemark, The Pinhoe Egg, Tales of Time City, The Islands of Chaldea. Those just grab me more, somehow. She also really enjoys twisting expectations.and distorting the nature of reality. Several of her books seem to deal with the memory of a major character being lost or altered (Time of the Ghost, Hexwood, Fire and Hemlock, Archer’s Goon. That’s been the common thread in her books that I’ve liked the least. I’ve also enjoyed looking at how book design changed over her career. The books went from very plain, standard fonts laid out densely on the page, to being quite elaborate with illustrated chapter headings, a variety of fonts, generally an increase in font size and line spacing, more elaborate cover art….I’m a fan of good book design. The chapter headings in Conrad’s Fate are great.

    I also read Promises to Keep and The Onion Girl by Charles de Lint. Jilly is such an awesome character! The books were hard to read on an emotional level, because of how dark they are. But lots of hope and redemption in the end.

Leave a Reply

