FF: No Real Theme. Sorry!

This week my reading has been all over the place…

A reminder… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

Another Stark Landscape

Another Stark Landscape

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Lives of Christopher Chant by Diana Wynne Jones.  Audiobook.  I really enjoyed this.  Christopher’s growing realization as to who he is and what consequences are doesn’t automatically make him a “nice child.”  The transformation is a lot more subtle and a lot more interesting.

The Hunt for the Big Bad Wolf by E.M. Tippets.  The third book of Tippets’ series which began with Someone Else’s Fairytale continues being more about “relationships” than romance. This is a plus, as far as I’m concerned.  The mystery/crime plot was well-handled, with an interesting resolution.

In Progress:

Bluefeather Fellini by Max Evans.  I picked this up on impulse.  It’s episodic, almost like novellas woven together.  I’m currently on the battlefields of WWII.  Scary.  There has also been love, sorrow, discovery, friendship, and obsession.  And some gorgeous descriptive writing.

Children of Dune by Frank Herbert.  I’m on a panel at Conduit this weekend on Dune.  I decided I wanted to remind myself how “Dune the next generation” progressed.

Conrad’s Fate by Diana Wynne Jones.  Audiobook.  I’d seriously intended to move on to the second book in the much-discussed Southern Reach triology as soon as a copy became available on audio, but I gave into the lure of watching Christopher as a teenager.

Also:

I started Ursula K. Le Guin’s “rendition” (her word, not mine) of Lao Tzu Tao Te Ching: A Book About the Way and The Power of the Way.  Reading slowly, as such deserves.

4 Responses to “FF: No Real Theme. Sorry!”

  1. Jay M. Says:

    Recently completed:
    Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen. A lot of movie scenes, from adaptations to connected works like Austenland and Death Comes to Pemberley, suddenly make sense.

    In progress (almost done):
    So You Want to Be a Wizard, by Diane Duane. 1983 edition. First in the Young Wizards series. While I remembered it fondly, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to get the new Millennium editions, in which the author updated the timeline and tech of the series to be more current and less “80s”. So I am rereading my copy of the original. A lot of good stuff. A few bits of old-tech, but not a lot. Maybe the other books are worse re: old-tech. Still a good book.

    Up next: Either another Jane Austen (recommendations?) or another pre-WW2 tale … maybe Poirot or Wolfe, or a one-off like Riddle of the Sands or 39 Steps. Not sure.

  2. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Currently listening while driving to “W is for Wasted,” Sue Grafton’s latest Kinsey private-eye story. Only three more letters of the alphabet to go.

  3. Chad Merkley Says:

    I’ve been reading more Charles de Lint–Spirits in the Wire and Trader. I have to say that I really like his depictions of musicians and the way their brains work.

    I also read Bridge of Birds by Barry Hughart. It reminded me of mix of Voltaire and Terry Pratchett, with elements of The Princess Bride thrown in. I started reading it after my brother and I had Hayao Miyazaki movie marathon, which had an interesting effect on how I visualized the novel. By the way, I highly recommend Miyazaki’s The Wind Rises. It’s historical/biographical fiction, rather than fantasy, but it’s one of his best.

  4. Eric Says:

    All nonfiction for me lately. Recently finished Antifragile by Nassim Nicholas Taleb and have now embarked on Around the World in 50 Years by Albert Podell. Also reading an old 1960s dog training book by William Koehler. Dog training was a different art in those days, yet still so similar. “Some things never change” is the biggest lesson I’m taking from the book.

Leave a Reply

