FF: Reading on the Road

We spent a lot of time on the road this past weekend, driving up to Conduit, in Utah, so I didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked.  Still, audiobooks do help…

At Arches National Monument in Utah

At Arches National Monument in Utah

A reminder… The Friday Fragments feature lists of what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones.  Jim and I had listened to the first two “Howl” books on our last road trip, so this was our first choice for this trip.  Charmain is the sort of protagonist Diana Wynne Jones does very well – annoying yet still sympathetic.  And, as those of you who have read my Child of a Rainless Year know,  I love stories about weird houses.

In Progress:

Bluefeather Fellini by Max Evans.  I didn’t bring this one with me, so I’m not much further along.

Children of Dune by Frank Herbert.  The Dune panel at Conduit was fun, but the second half of this book is really dragging…

Conrad’s Fate by Diana Wynne Jones.  Audiobook.  This one also stayed at home, but I’ve resumed and am having a great deal of fun.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.  Audiobook.  I read this soon after it came out and loved it.  I used the trip to seduce Jim.  He’s completely hooked.  We’ll definitely make time to finish it this weekend.

Also:

Some of Roger Zelazny’s poetry.  As much as he loved his prose, poetry was Roger’s first writerly love.  I’ll be reading a couple of his at a celebration of his life this weekend in Santa Fe and found myself reading more than my “homework.”

That includes the ones he wrote for me – which I won’t be reading at the event.

4 Responses to “FF: Reading on the Road”

  1. Jay M. Says:

    Recently Completed:
    So You Want to Be a Wizard – Diane Duane
    The Curious Affair at Styles – Agatha Christie (first Poirot novel)
    Persuasion – Jane Austen

    About to Begin:
    Whose Body? – Dorothy L. Sayers (first Lord Peter Wimsey novel)

    After That?
    Probably something F&SF because I’ll be in withdrawal.

  2. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Reading “The Ghost Riders” by Jim Griffin, an acquaintance up New England way who specializes in Texas Rangers novels. Jim Blawcyzk and Smoky McCue ride again.

  3. Chad Merkley Says:

    I read All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. it’s a historical novel set in France and Germany during WW2, and it’s been very highly praised by all kinds of critics. My own thoughts about it are little complex. It’s a good book. I can’t really say I “liked” or “enjoyed” it, but it made me think about what that war might have been like. I think I’d call it “cathartic” in the Aristotelian sense. The use of language was great–awesome imagery, and a good sense of a foreign language in the dialogue without being stilted. The main characters are complex, realistic, and sympathetic. My major criticism would be to wonder if the book could be structured differently than the repeated flashbacks. This created a lot of dramatic tension, and made the book hard to put down, but it seems kind of a quick and easy way to do so. Additionally, the subplot involving the German gemologist seemed kind of bolted on afterward. The lives of the two main characters and historical events would have been more than enough to maintain the power of the novel. Overall, I was very impressed with this book and highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

