FF: Busy, But Still Managed to Read

This week was really busy.  Not only did Artemis Invaded come out, but I immersed myself so I could finish a rather long (14,000 plus words) “short story” about the further adventures of Stephanie Harrington and Climbs Quickly (the main characters in Fire Season and Treecat Wars).

Persephone Says, "Never change."

Persephone Says, “Never change.”

The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane.  Audiobook.  Although this book is clearly intended for the junior high set, it doesn’t pull any punches with vocabulary.  If you read it wanting Harry Potter, you’re going to be disappointed.  If you read it with no expectations, there’s a lot to like.

The Princess in Black by Shannon Hale and Dean Hale, illustrated by LeUyen Pham.  This was recommended to me by a six year-old friend.  Richly illustrated in vivid color, it tells of Princess Magnolia who fights monsters as the mysterious Princess in Black.  At first, I’ll admit, it read like a retake on SheRa, Princess of Power.  However, there’s a real sense of the how kids have rich inner lives.  Princess Magnolia’s just happens to be more than fantasy.  This, as well as a princess who looks like a little girl, not a super model, won me over.

Island Dreams by Gerald Hausman.  A strong sense of place and an almost magical ability to make the reader not only see, but feel, hear, smell, and even taste locations makes for a vivid poetry collection.  Some of the personal ones – especially on the death of family or friends – are like peeping into the author’s heart.

Naruto, issue 70.  Manga.  Since Jim and I are watching the start of the story as anime, reading as the story is building to the end is providing some fascinating thoughts on story development.

In Progress:

The Change: Tales of Downfall and Rebirth, edited by S.M. Stirling.  I’m about half-way through this long collection.

Deep Wizardry by Diane Duane.  Audiobook.  Kit and Nita’s summer holiday becomes entangled with underwater magic.  So far, interesting.

Sammy Keyes and the Sisters of Mercy by Wendelin Van Draanen.  This time Sammy finds herself by a priest of stealing his treasured personal cross.  Just started.

Also:

No also, unless you count re-reading my manuscript.

12 Responses to “FF: Busy, But Still Managed to Read”

  1. Jay M. Says:

    Recently completed:

    Murder at the Vicarage, by Agatha Christie (first Miss Marple novel)

    The Crime at Black Dudley, by Margery Allingham (first appearance of Albert Campion but he’s not the main character)

    In Progress:

    Mystery Mile, by Margery Allingham (first Campion-centric novel)

    Note: I cannot read the Campion books without seeing Peter Davison as Campion. It seems he was very well cast in the role and played it very well in the late 80s.

    Up next, something F&SF.

  2. janelindskold Says:

    I’ve read — and enjoyed — all of those!

  3. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Reading another Louis L’Amour short story collection, “The Outlaws of Mesquite.” Like watching a bunch of old-time westerns.

  4. Arturius Elan Says:

    I have the same issue when I read the Campion stories. The same happened when I reread the Jeeves and Wooster stories by P.G. Wodehouse. Nor can I resist seeing Joan Hickson when I reread any of the Miss Marple stories.

    My daughter got me to read Diane Duane’s wizard series, I found them quite enjoyable. I just finished listening to Treecat Wars, which finished a month long listening to all the books associated with that. I’m now starting Dragonflight.

  5. Diane Duane (@dduane) Says:

    Thank you! Glad you’ve been enjoying the work so far. The tone shifts a bit as the series goes on, but not necessarily toward the darker. Deeper, though, I think. (Or hope…) We’ll see what everybody else makes of it. (Book 10 comes out in February: http://gameswizardsplay.com has the details.)

Leave a Reply

