FF: Wildly Mixed

As far as I can tell, my reading this week has nothing in common.  Wait!  Two of the SF could be said to be “military,” but both are so much more.

Kel Relaxes with a Good Book

Kel Relaxes with a Good Book

The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Lupus Rex by John Carter Cash.  A beast fable.

Off Armageddon Reef by David Weber. Book one of his “Safehold” series.  I read it when it first came out and decided to dip in again.

In Progress:

Borders of Infinity by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  In the last story…  Very good collection.

The Sky Chariots Saga Book 1: Restless Earth by Emily Mah.  Just started.

Also:

Proofing Curiosities, my forthcoming short story collection.

8 Responses to “FF: Wildly Mixed”

  1. Jay M. Says:

    Finished:
    Library of the Dead (1st Will Piper novel), by Glenn Cooper – not my cup of tea; I won’t read the rest of the series.

    Started:
    Police at the Funeral (4th Albert Campion novel), by Margery Allingham.

    I also read and re-read some short stories this week, but I don’t usually keep track of those unless one hits me really hard.

  2. Chad Merkley Says:

    Jane, isn’t the Bujold book actually titled Borders of Infinity? I was getting excited thinking she had a new book out….

    I read Artemis Invaded, and loved it. I really liked how tightly tied back to the AA it was. I also liked the thematic treatment of family and family relationships.

    In non-fiction, I started reading The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee. It discusses the historical and cultural effects of cancer, and the political and cultural elements involved in cancer research and cancer treatment. The book won a Pulitzer in 2010, and Ken Burns recently released a documentary based on the book.

    • Chad Merkley Says:

      Edit: Apparently I mistyped an HTML tag in the first line above. Darn it.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Ah, you are right. I have “bridges” on the brain… I tried to re-title “City of Stairs,” “City of Bridges.” I will go “backstage” and change.

      I’m really glad you enjoyed Artemis Invaded, themes and all!

      I hope you’ll share your views on various on-line reviewing sites. Then you’ll be qualified to enter my Help Make Artemis This Summer’s Hot Destination contest!

  3. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Second the motion on “Artemis Invaded.” Great book. Lots of surprises.

  4. Louis Robinson Says:

    Reading Safehold backwards a while back was fun. No, I didn’t start on the last page and read right to left; I needed to find something in LAMA so I reread it, then grabbed MT&T, then…

    Having consequences fresh in your mind makes the set-up in the previous book stand out more clearly. Of course, if you don’t like seeing how the gears fit together this isn’t at all a good thing, but the gears are why I reread: it takes _years_ before I can forget enough of the text to not remember what’s coming on the next page turn.

Leave a Reply

