FF: Women in POV

Except for Falling Free, which is mostly told from two male points of view, although there are at least two female POV characters, everything I read this past week had female POV.  Purest accident.

The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include either short fiction or magazine articles.

Kwahe'e Snags Karen

Kwahe’e Snags Karen Memory

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Sammy Keyes and the Curse of Mustache Mary by Wendelin Van Draanen.  Missing treasure and family feuds provide the backdrop for more serious questions of friendship and peer pressure.  More mature concerns like boys and substance abuse enter for the first time in the series.  A very large pig provides humor.

Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Focuses on the genetically engineered “quaddies.”  (I’m guessing at the spelling since this is an audiobook!  More emphasis on “event” than on character, which was a slight disappointment, but still fun.

Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear.  More substance than much steampunk, with interesting, complex characters.  I had trouble envisioning some of the “steampunk” devices, which didn’t matter until a sewing machine became key to the plot.

In Progress:

Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold.  Audiobook.  Prequel to “Miles” stories, how his parents met told, to this point at least, from Cordelia’s POV.

The Sword Woman by Robet E. Howard.  Wanted to read some early takes on “strong female characters” after writing my two WW on the subject.

Also:

Finished proofing Curiosities!  (That’s my forthcoming short story collection…)

4 Responses to “FF: Women in POV”

  1. Heteromeles Says:

    Yep, it’s quaddies.

  2. chadmerkley Says:

    I didn’t much of anything new–reread a couple of McDevitt’s Alex Benedict novels. I did read the first Sammy Keyes mystery. It was fun, but failed to really grab me. Some elements of the setting and background, such as Sammy’s family situation, felt forced and artificial to me, and didn’t do much to add to the narrative. I’m a big fan of young adult literature, but I couldn’t really connect to this.

  3. Sean Says:

    Interesting enough, I just finished rereading the last 5 books in the “Miles” stories by Bujold.

  4. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I have a whole new appreciation of books from a female POV after reading your WWs on that topic.

Leave a Reply

