FF: Amusing and New

Between Bubonicon and getting ready for the National Book Festival this weekend, my reading time was severely truncated.  As far as I am concerned, the only good thing about the fact that I’m going to spend a couple of days on airplanes and stuck in airports is that I’ll have lots of time to read.

Finding Time to Read Was a Balancing Act

Finding Time to Read Was a Balancing Act

For those of you new to this post…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger.  Tommy, a sixth grader, tries to figure out the secret of Origami Yoda.  Written journal style, which I am a sucker for when it’s done well…  I decided to try this because I may meet Mr. Angleberger next week since we’re both guests of the National Book Festival.  See below…

The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee by Tom Angleberger.  I seem to have missed one in the middle, but Mr. Angleberger provides enough transition that I easily picked up with this one.  Dwight is mostly off-stage in this one.  The “Secret” proves amusing.

In Progress:

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani.  Audiobook.  So far no surprises.  Good descriptions.

The Books of Great Alta by Jane Yolen (aka a compilation volume of her Sister Light, Sister Dark and White Jenna.  Just started.

Also:

Did I mention that the only good thing about two days spent travelling is that I get to read?

2 Responses to “FF: Amusing and New”

  1. Peter Says:

    “Did I mention that the only good thing about two days spent travelling is that I get to read?”

    Having just spent a full two days in transit (22 hours in the air, plus layovers) I whole-heartedly second this statement.

  2. Paul Dellinger Says:

    Congratulations on being a speaker at the National Book Festival. Well deserved.

Leave a Reply

