FF: Reading in Transit

Last Friday I went to D.C. for the National Book Festival.  I did get to read quite a bit, although not as much as I thought I might.  Blame David Weber, with whom Jim and I sat up one night until quite late catching up.  So nice to see an old friend.  Also saw family, which was delightful.

Reading Room

Reading Room

In case you’re new to the FF…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Books of Great Alta by Jane Yolen (aka a compilation volume of her novels Sister Light, Sister Dark and White Jenna.  Very interesting stylistically.  Legend of the rise of a warrior queen, complete with commentary and music.  If the characters hadn’t been interesting this would have been a disaster!  But they were so it wasn’t.

The Finisher by David Baldacci.  Dystopian YA with a female protag…  Except, honestly, she could as easily have been a “he,” so much so I found myself wondering if the change in gender had come later.  Various plot elements raised a lot of questions for me.  I don’t think I was the intended audience.

In Progress:

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani.  Audiobook.  Had to leave this one at home, so I’m just getting back to it.

To Hold the Bridge by Garth Nix.  Short story collection, stories grouped by theme, which is sort of odd.  I’m enjoying.

Also:

Read a variety of articles in randomly selected periodicals.  Sometimes I’m amazed at the things people find important.

4 Responses to “FF: Reading in Transit”

  1. chadmerkley Says:

    I was kind of ambivalent about the Great Alta books. The setting and the details of the culture were hard to figure out. But yes, cool characters.

    I just discovered the work of Kage Baker. I’m absolutely loving In the Garden of Iden. She has written enough to keep my busy for a couple of weeks, at least :).

    Is that a picture of a P-48? I don’t think reading novels was encouraged in one of those.

  2. Eric Says:

    Haven’t heard of the Great Alta books before, but I might check them out. Looking for new stuff after having just finished Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy.

  3. Paul Says:

    Just finished Robert Silverberg’s “Blood on the Mink.” Yes, you read that right. It’s a pulp mystery magazine “novel” from the early ’50s that never got published in the magazine because it went under, but is now available through the Hard Case Crime imprint with two shorter “crime” stories by him and an afterword about writing them all back then.

Leave a Reply

