FF: A Change of Plans

Although I love audiobooks, sometimes I can’t stand a reader’s interpretation of the material.  That happened to me this week.

Plans Take Flight!

Plans Take Flight!

For those of you new to this post…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Prince of Wolves by Dave Gross.  I enjoyed.  Look for a WW interview with Dave Gross before the end of October!

In Progress:

Roadsouls by Betsy James.  Manuscript of a forthcoming novel.

Tortall and Other Lands by Tamora Pierce.  Audiobook. A short story collection, containing material from between 2005-2012.  I’m about half-way through and enjoying.

An Important Side Note:

Uprooted by Naomi Novik.  Audiobook. This is the one I had to give up on as an audiobook, because the reader was driving me completely nuts.  I’ll be finishing as a “regular” book as soon as I can slot it in!

6 Responses to “FF: A Change of Plans”

  1. chadmerkley Says:

    It’s too bad UPROOTED didn’t work out for you. I think you’ll enjoy it, though. Pierce’s short story collection has some cool stuff in it. I liked seeing an author I was familiar with as a novelist working in a different format.

    I didn’t get much new reading done this week. My big accomplishment, though, is I finally finished reading the New Testament in Spanish. I started it in July. Definitely a challenge, but cool. I think I’ve finally figured out how to recognize dative phrases. 🙂

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Impressive finishing the NT in Spanish… I was looking at the newly arrived copies of FLAMMENZEIT (Fire Season in German) and realized how rusty my reading knowledge of German has become. I never could speak more than a few phrases.

      I haven’t had a chance to get a copy of UPROOTED, but I do plan to do so!

      • chadmerkley Says:

        For all the politicians spouting out on the need for science and math education, I really wish that there was more and better foreign language instruction in public schools, starting in Elementary school.

      • Peter Says:

        More and better subsequent language instruction starting in elementary school is a great idea, and one I strongly support, but even given the political will and funding to do it, the problem is finding qualified people to teach languages.

        I’ve seen this both as a student – in eight years of primary and high-school French classes, I had exactly one (1) teacher who could actually speak French – and as a teacher (I’m one of four native speaking teachers at a school with just over a thousand students, and while many of my “bilingual” colleagues are excellent teachers, sometimes their command of English leaves something to be desired.)

  2. James Marshall Says:

    I tried an audiobook back in February and HATED the reader’s interpretation of how the dog’s telepathic conversation with the druid would work, because he decided the dog’s MENTAL communication would be pronounced as if he had a dog’s longer tongue and panted/slurred certain sounds. He was a great reader otherwise but that choice completely threw me out of the audiobook. It’s that sort of thing which makes me very hesitant to try audiobooks. (Note: the author loved that interpretation, so YMMV.)

    In progress: The Sufis, by Idries Shah (non-fiction)

  3. Paul Says:

    I envy your ability to do audiobooks in settings other than driving. I took mine out of the car. Tried to listen while doing other things, and lost track of the story. Tried sitting and listening, and kept dozing off. It went back in the car (it was three Elvis Cole novels by Robert Crais, just finished and much enjoyed).

Leave a Reply

