FF: Art and Writing Intertwined

News Flash!  There’s a special offer from Shelfie for those of you who like e-books.  More information at the bottom of this post!

This week, again, purely by accident, art and writing as elements entered into a fair amount of my reading material.

For one, the German edition of Fire Season arrived!  I really like how Stephanie was interpreted for this one, although Climbs Quickly looks like a taxidermied lynx.  Probably just smoke inhalation.

Just a reminder…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Persephone Claims Flammenzeit!

Persephone Claims Flammenzeit!

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Roadsouls by Betsy James.  Manuscript of a forthcoming novel.  I liked and will try to remember to mention when it is released.  Journey is more internal than external, but no less real – and author uses her background as an artist to very good effect.

Tortall and Other Lands by Tamora Pierce.  Audiobook. A short story collection, containing material from between 2005-2012.  Enjoyed, especially the last story, which is neither SF nor F…

Gryphon & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence.  Maybe because Betsy James is also a professional artist, I was reminded of this book (and its sequels) which are as much art as book.  There’s a weird appeal to reading someone else’s mail.

In Progress:

The Diviners by Libba Bray.  Audiobook.  Cultural contradictions of “Roaring Twenties” well-evoked.  Horror elements creeping in…

The Golden Mean: In Which the Extraordinary Correspondence of Griffin and Sabine Conclude by Nick Bantock.  The first book made a sequel seem impossible, so this fascinates.

Little Fuzzy by H. Beam Piper.  This came up in Alan and my discussions, so I decided to read.  No.  I hadn’t read it before… despite the theme,which is one I have also addressed in my fiction!

Also:

After a long time away, I decided to get back into bead work.  I have a weakness for projects that involve very small beads.  I’ve been delving into myriad books, because no one seems to include all I want to know about a stitch.  Assumptions are SO dangerous for a writer!

Special ebook offer from Shelfie

If you own my books in print, you can get the ebook too for $2.99 from Shelfie and Tor, my publisher. Shelfie is a free smartphone app (shelfie.com) that gives readers a special deal on ebooks when they own the book in print.

The Shelfie Game

The Shelfie Game

Some of you are die-hard print readers and some of you like ebooks too. Shelfie is helping you connect with your books and with other readers too. Discover new reads by exploring shelfies — photos of real bookshelves — taken by other avid readers like us.

Shelfie is free and easy to use. Find the app on the Apple App Store, Google Play or at shelfie.com.

6 Responses to “FF: Art and Writing Intertwined”

  1. chadmerkley Says:

    LITTLE FUZZY is a lot of fun. The humans have a ridiculously paternalistic attitude, though. The “Lord Kalvan” stuff is my favorite PIper.

    I read Davd Weber’s HELL’S FOUNDATION QUIVER. I really liked how he built up the history and backstory in this one. I want more, though!

    I also discovered THE NATURAL HISTORY OF DRAGONS by Marie Brennan. Very fun, very clever, and so much realistic cultural and geographic detail. I’m looking forward to working my way through the rest of what she’s written.

    I also read CURIOSITIES. The were three stories that i had read before; all the rest were new. My reactions varied. Several of them I absolutely loved (especially “Jeff’s Best Joke”,”The Drifter” and “Hunting the Unicorn”. I have a question, though (maybe it needs to be passed on to Jim): Is it really possible to knap an arrowhead from bottle glass?

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Yep… Very possible to knap an arrowhead from bottle glass. You need a thick piece, though, like from the base of one of those big water cooler bottles. Most bottle glass is too thin.

      Jim, by the way, is an expert knapper. His preferred material is obsidian, which is a form of glass. However, he occasionally uses slag glass for the pretty colors. I think I pictured some of his work in an early June 2010 Wandering.

      • khavrinen Says:

        I went to a demonstration about knapping several years ago where the woman said the guy she learned from used to make arrowheads out of a substance that looked like obsidian. Then, after he had cut something to show it was actually sharp, he’d pop it in his mouth, and ( after the gasps of shock ) reveal that it was a block of licorice hard candy.

      • Jane Lindskold Says:

        Jim liked that… I’m not sure he’d do that trick, though, because some less than brilliant person would only see from a distance and then decide to try it with REAL obsidian, which is astonishingly sharp.

        (Jim actually made surgical tools from obsidian once.) Yes. They were used for an actual surgery.

        Stone age doesn’t always mean “worse.”

  2. Paul Says:

    I remember liking “Little Fuzzy” many years ago. Thought of him when I saw the Ewoks…

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      The artist depictions — at least on the books I’ve seen — makes them too large. They’re only supposed to be about two feet max.

      However, I’m sure they were at least part of the inspiration for Ewoks.

Leave a Reply

