FF: All Over the Place

My reading is more chaotic than usual this week…

Some of My Folklore and Mythology

Some of My Folklore and Mythology

Just a reminder…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Diviners by Libba Bray.  Audiobook.  A good Halloween-tide book with serial killers, comets, and conspiracies, all mixed in a cocktail shaker right out of the Roaring Twenties.  Only complaint was that several plotlines seemed to be introduced solely because the characters will be needed in book two.  I think she could have waited – even though, oddly, some  of those characters were my favorites.

Sabine’s Notebook: In Which the Extraordinary Correspondence of Griffin & Sabine Continues and The Golden Mean: In Which the Extraordinary Correspondence of Griffin & Sabine Concludes by Nick Bantock.  The first book made a sequel seem impossible, so this fascinates.  I realized I’d picked up them out of order, so went back and things right.

Little Fuzzy by H. Beam Piper.  This came up in Alan and my discussions, so I decided to read.  The Fuzzies are adorable, but the plot drags because the “good guys” don’t figure out what the “bad guys” are up to, even though there’s ample evidence.  But I did love the Fuzzies.

In Progress:

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie.  Audiobook.  It’s been a stressful week, so I decided to spend time with my old friend Hercule Poroit.

Fighting the Flying Circus by Captain Eddie. V. Rickenbacker.  A non-fiction autobiographical account of what is was like to be a fighter pilot in WWI.

Also:

I’ve been reading about praying mantises and alchemy.  Seriously.  I told you my reading was all over the place this week!

6 Responses to “FF: All Over the Place”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    Didn’t realise that mantises practiced alchemy. This is research, I presume – the next couple of books could be very interesting indeed 😉

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      No specific book in mind. I’m a firm believer in what I call “feeding the Muse.” I certainly have some ideas, but sometimes it’s good to toss things into my subconscious to see what will come out.

  2. Sean Says:

    Is the act of praying required in good alchemy among Mantises?
    Are Mantises required ingredients in several alchemical processes?
    Is this the key of turning gold into lead?

  3. chadmerkley Says:

    I see that I was beaten to the mantis/alchemy jokes. Oh, wait–I could say something about mantic mantids maniacally melding metals while moaning melismatically.

    The best book I read this week is Wizard of the Pigeons by Megan Lindholm. Jane mentioned reading it about a month ago, so I tracked down a copy. Wow. The first sentence just grabbed me. I actually started to feel nostalgic for the year and a half I lived in Seattle. I was there about 25 years later than the book was set, and I rarely bothered to go downtown, but still. Wow.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed. The book is definitely falling into a “between” spot, where certain details,like the Vietnam War, seem dated. However, I think it has enough going on in it that it will pass through and be even more readable in the future.

  4. Featured Author Shelfie — Jane Lindskold Says:

    […] more about what she’s been reading in this blog post. Her post ends with “I’ve been reading about praying mantises and alchemy.” Now, […]

Leave a Reply

