FF: Chaos Reigns!

Well…  I had to have a title.  You decide it if applies!

Silver Considers Flight

Silver Considers Flight

Just a reminder…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie.  Audiobook.  I enjoyed.  Again!

Winter Witch by Elaine Cunningham. (Co-written with Dave Gross.)  Audiobook.  Another Pathfinder universe novel.  Quite good, with two very solid main characters.  I would enjoy reading more of their adventures.

The Great Piratical Rumbustification & The Librarian and the Robbers by Margaret Mahy.

Tick Tock Tales: Twelve Stories to Read Around the Clock by Margaret Mahy.  Alan Robson mentioned this author to me.  In fact, we’ve been talking about her works and will be sharing that chat in a week or so.

In Progress:

Fighting the Flying Circus by Captain Eddie. V. Rickenbacker.  A non-fiction autobiographical account of what is was like to be a fighter pilot in WWI.  Sometimes, a hundred years ago can see like an alien land.

Seventh Grave and Nobody by Darynda Jones.  Audiobook.  Just started.

Also:

Holiday shopping MUST be coming, because my mail box suddenly includes at least one catalog a day.  Looking through them is a fascinating exercise in anthropology.  I wonder what an alien would make of us based on, say, Vermont Country Store’s catalog or Signals?

3 Responses to “FF: Chaos Reigns!”

  1. Jane Lindskold Says:

    I forgot to mention…. Silver is the largest of our guinea pigs. The book she is next to is a full-sized hard cover. She is about twice the size of Sirenity, our smallest.

  2. chadmerkley Says:

    I kinda want to see the guinea pig in a little leather aviator helmet and goggles.

    I read The Archaeology of Qumran and the Dead Sea Scrolls by Jodi Magness. Very interesting. In fiction, I just finished Solar Express by L. E. Modessit Jr. I really enjoyed it. It has elements of an epistolary novel in it, with the two main characters exchanging letters back and forth mixed in with the narrative.

  3. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I finally finished “The Western: From the Silents to the Seventies,” which I’d been reading a few pages a night before sleep stopped me. Interesting to read from the perspective of the ’70s when it was written, and westerns still existed. The authors thought the genre would always exist in movies. Seemingly, they were wrong.

Leave a Reply

