FF: Interview Alert and More

Dave Gross interviewed me for his “Creative Colleagues” feature.  His questions were just different enough to be fun – including a couple related to my alternate life as a gamer and how it relates to writing.  Hope you enjoy!

Ogapoge ContemplatesTransformation

Ogapoge ContemplatesTransformation

Just a reminder…  The Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of descriptions or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Fighting the Flying Circus by Captain Eddie. V. Rickenbacker.  Non-fiction autobiographical recollections of one of World War I’s hotshot pilots.  His framing war as a form of sport was unsettling and alien, but a good eye-opener.

Naruto by Masahi Kishimoto, issue 72.  (Manga.)  I’ve been following this story nearly from the start.  This was the last issue.  I enjoyed – especially the resolution of the conflict between Naruto and Sasuke, which took an unexpected twist.  Short epilogue was interesting, too.

In Progress:

Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones.  Audiobook.  Didn’t have as much time to listen as I would have liked, but am enjoying.  The ostensible “case” is taking backseat to larger plot elements.

Alchemy by Margaret Mahy.  YA, rather than her younger offerings that I looked at last week.

Also:

I also sampled some novels I was considering giving as gifts, just to make sure I liked them.  I’ll be finishing some later on and let you know more!

So, what are the rest of you reading?

5 Responses to “FF: Interview Alert and More”

  1. chadmerkley Says:

    I haven’t gotten much reading in this last week. I suddenly realized that I wanted to start putting together some Christmas music. I did start reading Chasing Monarchs by Robert Michael Pyle. I attended a lecture he gave here locally and absolutely loved it. In addition to the science he presented, he read several passages from his various memoirs as a lepidopterist. I had to read his books after that.

  2. David Dunham Says:

    I finished Death’s Heretic, a Pathfinder novel by James L. Sutter, and am currently reading Typee by Herman Melville.

  3. Jane Lindskold Says:

    Nice mix, both of y’all. Marketers always act as if readers read only one category. They really should read this blog, especially the Comments..

  4. Louis Robinson Says:

    well, curling and skating seasons have started, so…

    1/3 into Jim Butcher’s The Aeronaut’s Windlass. Fun, and the first Butcher I’ve gotten around to. One of the main characters in particular has so much growing up to do that it’s almost a YA – along with everything else that’s going on.

    Also started Pat Wrede & Pam Dean’s book of Liavek stories.

    Watching a lecture series on Ancient Civilizations of Asia Minor. A bit disappointing, in the sense that there’s a lot of overlap with other courses I’ve watched recently, so not much really new material. Not surprising – there’s only so much known about the period and region, and Asia Minor is the bad penny of ancient and medieval history. It keeps turning up, and for very good reason.

    As always, dipping into arxiv.org: currently, Wolf-Rayet stars and supernova explosion mechanisms. It’s amazingly difficult to get something as big as a star to explode, and it’s still not clear if the problem is our physics or simply our computational capacity.

    War as Sport was a pretty universal attitude among the officer corps of July 1914. Not that you can really blame them – they were heirs of 2500 years of Western tradition. It seems to have lasted longest among the top pursuit pilots. Again, not surprising. I don’t think they’d have made it through the war without it, but it left a lot of them amazingly lost when the war ended.

    • janelindskold Says:

      Yes. Excellent view… Rickenbacker’s book shows that “lost” coming on. I’m tempted to read a biography of him at some point to learn what he ended up doing with the rest of his life.

Leave a Reply

