FF: Finding Time to Read

With holiday preparations taking up time, I haven’t had as much reading time as I’d like.

Kel Curls Up With A Book

Kel Curls Up With A Book

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Uprooted by Naomi Novik.  Setting was the most interesting part for me.

In Progress:

Lair of Dreams: A Diviners Novel, by Libba Bray.  Audiobook.  This one is over twenty hours, so I’m still going along.

Midnight Thief, by Livia Blackburne.  I’ve enjoyed visiting with Livia at Bubonicon these last couple years, so decided to try one of her books.  Just started.

The Unending Mystery: A Journey Through Labyrinths and Mazes by David Willis McCullough.  Non-fiction look at the world-wide interest in these patterns.  Reading a little at a time.

Also:

Some craft project books.

7 Responses to “FF: Finding Time to Read”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    Please be careful with Unending Mystery. There might not be a way out, and we wouldn’t want to lose you!

  2. David Dunham Says:

    First Men in the Moon by H. G. Wells. Makes me wonder if he really thought the moon had an oxygen atmosphere.

    The Ultimates Vol 1 by Mark Millar. A different take on superheroes. Hank Pym nearly beats his wife to death; Hulk kills 300+ in rampage, but gets Betty hot when he eats Chitarri.

    BTW: My wife got a stuffed dog this week and named it Snuff. Wonder if Zelazny is smiling.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I bet he is… He wanted to do that novel for a long time. I’ve always been happy he did it rather than his “homework,” (ie. the books he had under contract). It gave him a lot of joy and continues to delight people over twenty years later.

      Thanks for the smile…

  3. Chris Krohn Says:

    Currently enjoying CURIOSITIES. Left my autographed copy at home one day to my consternation, so Ms Lindskold also scored an e-book sale as well.

  4. Paul Dellinger Says:

    “Curiosities” is fun indeed.

  5. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Hello Jane LINDSKOLD this is actually JASMINE OLSON THE GRANDDAUGHTER OF HER GRANDMA HENRIETTA ABEYTA IN UT. speaking to you because I jasmine Olson am reading your 4th book of FIREKEEPER’S SERIES and I’ve sure enjoyed FIREKEEPER’S long story, I’m enough of a 25 year old fantasy lover to read your brother of dragons and companion of owls book too.

    My Grandma Henrietta sees it like I get rambunctious with huskies and malamutes and that the wolves obsess me, but mostly I feel like it’s the wolves who taught me not a human school and my grandma counsels me, and ever since I was a lonely young girl who felt helpless first during childhood, I really admire the wolves and their closest cousins. Make the books that you desire, but I love the wolves enough that I can’t quit staring at them would you please keep writing your excellent and fun fiction wolf collections. I see your wolf books totally uplifting

    your book fan in UT. who’s also written to RUNSWITH WOLVESSANCTUARY in Maine, and loves YELLOWSTONE too, JASMINE OLSON WHO’S DISABLED BUT HAS BEEN TAUGHT BY THE WOLVES, IT’S TRUE I’M A VISUAL THINKER WHO CAN QUICKLY VISUALIZE A CHARACTER, AND A NATURE LOVER TOO.

    THANKS DEAR JANE LINDSKOLD.

Leave a Reply

