FF: Not Much Finished

This week two things really cut into my novel-reading time: research for a short story and reading a bunch of material related to the death of David Bowie.  (See my Wednesday Wandering for this week if you don’t understand why the latter should make a difference.)

Silver Considers Becoming a Super Model

Silver Considers Becoming a Super Model

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Kitty Raises Hell by Carrie Vaughn. (Audiobook.) A very direct sequel to Kitty and the Deadman’s Hand.  Pretty good, although I thought the title was deceptive.  New antagonist introduced in a very creative fashion.

In Progress:

Summerland by Michael Chabon.  A baseball fantasy seems the right thing to counter winter.  I’m very much enjoying this.

Kitty’s House of Horrors by Carrie Vaughn.  (Audiobook.).  Just started.

Also:

A Guinea Pig Pride and Prejudice by Alex Goodwin.  This Christmas gift from Steve (S.M.) and Jan Stirling completely enchanted both me and Jim so we shared it with our guinea pig co-residents.

9 Responses to “FF: Not Much Finished”

  1. chrissportsworld Says:

    Jane, is the Guiniea Pig’s Pride and Prejudice readily available? One of my FAVORITE books, and of course, one of my FAVORITE animals!

    Love,

    Ann

  2. Paul Says:

    Really like Chabon’s work. Wasn’t he a co-scripted of the under-rated “John Carter” movie?

  3. David Dunham Says:

    Betrayals by S.M. Stirling. I haven’t read any of his original fiction, but I enjoyed his take on Babylon 5.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’m fond of Steve’s “Nantucket” triology — which is the root for his very popular and on-going alternate history Changeverse (in which I have done a short story “The Hermit and the Jackalopes).

      The Nantucket is alternate history of a sort, too, but set in the Iron Age. Very creative.

      If you like media tie-in books, I thought his take on the “Terminator” universe was very strong.

  4. chadmerkley Says:

    I read BONE: THE COMPLETE CARTOON EPIC by Jeff Smith. Absolutely loved it. I need to find more graphic novels, I think. Anyone have suggestions?
    I’m also reading HOW TO TEACH GUITAR by Serna and Schexnayder. Very interesting. Based on their advice, where I’m lacking is in the business aspects, rather than musicianship or teaching skills. I need to advertise myself more aggressively….

Leave a Reply

