FF: Homages

Purely by chance, most of the books I’ve been reading seem to be homages to other works.  What’s really nice is that they manage to be fresh stories on their own.

Kwahe'e Relaxes

Kwahe’e Relaxes

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Summerland by Michael Chabon.  A delightful read.  An homage to baseball and myth.

Jenny’s Birthday Book by Esther Averill.  A picture book about Jenny the cat and friends.  An homage to the Cat Club.

Master of Devils by Dave Gross.  A Pathfinder novel.  Perhaps too reliant on fight scenes, but a good story between.  I particularly liked the plot line where the wolfhound is the main character.  An homage to Chinese martial arts film.

In Progress:

Kitty’s House of Horrors by Carrie Vaughn.  Audiobook.  Starts light and gets very scary.  An homage, I’d guess, to Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, but also moves the series plot along neatly.

A Wild Swan and Other Tales by Michael Cunningham.  “Re-imagined” fairy tales.  Just started.

Also:

Doing a lot of research for a short story I’m working on.

3 Responses to “FF: Homages”

  1. Paul Says:

    Just finished “Killer Cruise” by Laura Levine, a light mystery, maybe a little too light as the heroine bounces from one crisis to another until things couldn’t get worse. And then they do.

  2. chadmerkley Says:

    I read KITTY AND THE MIDNIGHT HOUR by Carrie Vaughn. I liked the way the supernatural community had to interact and deal with “normal” people and laws. I haven’t decided if I want to look for the sequels yet. One result of reading this book is that I’ve had Wilson Pickett singing in the back of my head all week, just from the title.

    I also read THE RELIC MASTER by Christopher Buckley. I grabbed it more or less at random from the new arrivals shelf at the library. It’s a historical novel set in Germany at the time of the reformation. The main character travels around purchasing relics of saints and martyrs for his noble patrons. It has a great mix of comedic scenes with serious elements. I think I enjoyed it more than about any other novel I’ve read in the past few months.

    I also read the first few issues of Neil Gaiman’s SANDMAN, on Jane’s recommendation. I just didn’t find myself enjoying it enough to keep reading. I didn’t engage with the premise or the characters.

  3. Jas. Marshall 6 Says:

    Recently completed:

    Flowers for the Judge (Albert Campion #7) by Margery Allingham – the title only made sense in this one during the trial, unless I missed something; the book explains more than the BBC adaptation, which always seemed to have a lot of plot holes, but I don’t think this is one of the stronger books in the series.

    Who Is Number 2? (tie-in novel for “The Prisoner”) by David McDaniel – felt like an exercise in “write exactly this many pages on this topic;” famous for stating outright that Number 6 was, in fact, John Drake.

    Still ongoing:

    The Black Throne, by Fred Saberhagen and Roger Zelazny – this one hasn’t grabbed my attention and demanded that I finish it right away like most Zelazny stories; I’ll try to get a little further today and see where I end up.

Leave a Reply

