Scattered Wisdom

Last Wednesday, I went in to have all four of my wisdom teeth removed.  I then spent the rest of the week (up to and including while I’m writing this) in some variation of recovery.  I was very lucky in that my wisdom teeth were not impacted, so they came out comparatively easily.  Nonetheless, between recovering from sedation and lots of ibuprofen, I spent a very quiet week.

Me and My Feline Nurses

Me and My Feline Nurses

During some of my more alert moments, I found myself wondering why the darned things are called “wisdom teeth,” since they seem like a rather stupid design flaw, appearing late and crowding the rest of the established teeth to the point that they usually need to be removed.

Wikipedia, that repository of bits of information (if not actual wisdom), provided the following explanation:

“Although formally known as third molars, the common name is wisdom teeth because they appear so late – much later than the other teeth, at an age where people are presumably “wiser” than as a child, when the other teeth erupt.  The term probably came as a translation of the Latin: dens sapientiae.”

So there!

In honor of being tired and vague, I’m going to share with you a variety of (hopefully interesting) bits of information.

First item…  I was asked to participate in a possible anthology of stories set in the universe that the late Aaron Allston created for the “Strike Force” setting within the Champions superheroes role-playing system.  I met Aaron Allston some years before his death and found him a lively and creative person.  Additionally, I’ve written a lot of things, but I’ve never written a superhero story, so I’d enjoy the challenge.

The Kickstarter campaign is now live and very impressive.  Even if you’re not interested in the possibility of my writing a superheroes story, you might want to take a look at it because a lot of work went into the design.

This campaign is particularly interesting in that it provides not only details regarding the proposed project, but also about why “Strike Force” (originally published in 1988) was an important landmark in the transition of role-playing games from dungeon crawls to full-fledged story-telling experiences.

Kickstarter is becoming an important way for smaller projects to be funded.  I think it’s also a great way to give potential purchasers a way to indicate what form of a work they’d be interested in spending their hard-earned money on: electronic or print, illustrated or not, color art or black and white, soft-cover or hard-cover, supplemental materials or not.  This permits the creators to put their energy and dollars where they’ll do the most good.

In fact, one of these days, I might design a Kickstarter campaign as a way of learning whether an off-beat project would merit the effort…

Second item… One of the things that I’ve been reading during my recovery is Grace Slick’s autobiography Somebody to Love.  (Thank you, Alan Robson, for mentioning it in your recent “wot I red on my hols” column.  Especially for the warning about the strawberries…)

During a discussion of her high school studies, Grace Slick makes the following statement:

“…I considered economics useless.  Boy, was that a mistake: only later did I realize that ‘artists’ need to know business games and numbers.  It’s unfair, really, because business types never have to learn to draw, sing, dance, or write lyrics.”

Whether she meant the final statement seriously or not (at least a third of the comments she makes need to be taken with a heavy shake of salt), I thought it was worth repeating.  I’ve met a great many artists (writers, painters, poets, sculptors, dancers) who seem to think that taking an interest in the nitty-gritty business details immediately disqualifies them for the title “artist.”

This is really a self-destructive attitude.  Being aware of the business ramifications of your particular field doesn’t make you less of an artist.  What can make you less of an artist is doing projects you have no interest in simply because you think they’ll somehow get you ahead.  That can make you a hack.  But, funny thing, I’ve known a lot of poor hacks as well as starving artists.  The one thing they had in common was thinking they were too smart to learn their business.

Third item…  I did a couple short interviews recently with C.P. (Carolyn) Lesley.  She did a good time preparing, and her questions have a nice bent shaped by her work as a historical writer.  Maybe you’ll find something to enjoy.   Part one is here, and part two here.

Fourth item…  There’s no number four.  I had stitches removed yesterday, so right now curling up with a good book sounds like my proper speed.  Take care!

7 Responses to “Scattered Wisdom”

  1. Heteromeles Says:

    Congratulations on getting them out! I had mine out, well, a long time ago. Under local anesthetic, so I remember the small surgeon balancing himself on my chest to out one that had twined its roots into my sinuses. That hole whistled every time I breathed for a few days until it healed shut. Fortunately, my horror stories about wisdom teeth removal are nowhere near as bad as those of some others I’ve heard, but unless they post here, you’ll be spared.

    Feel better!

  2. Paul Says:

    Those nurses look intent on their jobs.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    carefulness and quality I’d say just have pleasure and gratitude.

    friends rather than honor, sometimes others are just being ruly.

    An ally gives a different kind of support but a friend never breaks a promise at all plus a friend is also willing to protect you.

    an acquaintance stay steady you never know right away with an acquaintance it’s only a maybe that a friendship will form later.

    divine a surprising quality it’s something to be grateful for.

    magic an invisible power it’s something to be cautious with.

    power is not wonderful there are times your very own power may scare you a bit unexpectedly so don’t be too proud just be pleased. plus there are those who have the knowledge they need to get started but they ignore it.

    looking for signs or using your special gifts do it wisely

    politely or rude.

    loyal or evil

    scary or gentle

    good or bad

    passive or faithful

    don’t refuse to adapt because if you do life will be a struggle.

    we fear what we can’t explain so why guess when you can learn.

    true indeed we have more in common than we can tell and right similarity doesn’t mean a relation.

    if we refuse to learn more we’ll also miss several lessons about ourselves not just important parts of an event’s possibilities. just like BLIND SEER TELLS FIREKEEPER concentrate and cooperate.

    role your part of a task

    rank level of teamwork others think you fit at

    home a place that gives you comfort or you real property.

    destiny what people think your fate is telling you to do

    minding your place is showing who you are within as well as doing the job others give you both show your hopes while you live your life.

    FREEDOM AND COMMON SENSE WE ALL HAVE A FREE WILL COME AND GO AS YOU LIKE AND REACH FOR THE LIGHTS WHILE YOU FOLLOW THE SPIRIT.

    THIS IS STUFF I’VE DSICOVERED RECENTLY WITH THE HELP OF HAMISH A YEARLING GNAW WOLF IN 8TH GUARDIANS OF GA HOOLE BOOK AND BLIND SEER TOO, IT’S JASMINE OLSON IN UT. WHO LEARNED AND WROTE THESE RECCOMENDATIONS DEAR JANE LINDSKOLD..

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      You’re obviously a thoughtful reader. One reason I re-read is because the first time I read a book, I’m often too impatient to know what’s going to happen. It takes me a second reading to soak in the more thoughtful parts.

  4. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Well we do different things at various speeds but I’m able to read and visualize a character at the same time, look at a photo and use my imagination, watch a scene a hear the voice within me, or memorize what a book or Grandma told me recently and learn something new because it seemed related to the earlier expression or fact somehow. My flexibility is firm Jane it’s one of the positive ways I always surprise other people. And even while learning stuff I have patience in gaining the skills not just the knowledge.

    Blind Seer has helped me distinguish several kinds of speech Jane. His actions and sayings are clear in my mind he’s indeed a fiction wolf who teaches me enough behavior, personality, and expression differences to at least try to speak up independently in a crowd or somewhere like an office. He’s made the meanings of different types of situations as clear as various signals Jane, that’s part of why I’m not too afraid to step up and speak. Blind Seer has helped me with decreasing my confusion of what’s happening, Odessa in THE LAND OF ELYON has helped me see ways to judge comfort and safety like how different greetings feel around different people and our capabilities being taken care of, while the main way we’d say FAOLAN in THE WOLVES OF THE BEYOND series has helped me is he’s unique enough that he helped me quickly decide what wide spread rumors to forget, as if splitting truth and common complaints, and then the nice result of self-respect. And all 3 have made friendship clear. And these are also the 3 fiction wolves who helped me discover wisdom isn’t the only step of common sense, common sense has many steps and should be use all the time.

    JASMINE OLSON SHARING OPINIONS AND SOME OF HER REAL STRENGTHS ON THIS COMMENT JANE.

  5. henrietta abeyta Says:

    My Grandma Henrietta and I Jasmine Olson have several rare skills Jane. An office or a new house we’re skillful at organizing and sorting, we’re sincerely loyal, we’re honest not passive, we’re patient about numerous events, I’m flexible, and me or mom or my half siblings plus our other family members Grandma’s totally protective. Grandma’s good at budgeting wisely even during hard periods. The two of us can usually repress our bad feelings without a struggle. We don’t give up right away like most people.

    social skills, politeness, sounding real in my speech, common sense itself, the result of how the crowd will treat me looking weird to them Grandma will nicely give me a soft warning, plus she’s made lovely multiple promises she’s not only my faithful Grandma who can uplift me fast Jane. GODMOTHER, GRANDMOTHER, GUARDIAN and EMOTIONALLY MY MOST TRUSTED COUNSELOR especially since people fear the disabled plus how common judgmental people are, she’s the family member who’ll stay deep in my heart forever absolutely, Jane.

    SOCIAL WORKER, LIBRARIAN, THEN AN IHC WORKER that’s how Grandma’s work years went by. it actually thanks to her that I can even volunteer at the libraries and prove my good skills doing a variety of books without the librarians firing me too soon, Jane. some of us disabled people function well, but without helpful people who understand us like Grandma, disabled people aren’t trusted.

    BOOKS MOVIES AND GRANDMA HERSELF TEACH ME QUICK WITH MY VISUAL THINKING. SEVERAL PEOPLE CLOSE TO ME HAVE TOLD ME I HAVE INSIGHTS ABOUT HOW OTHER PEOPLE FEEL JANE. I BELIEVE SOME IT’S HOW FAST I CAN VISUALIZE STUFF AND SOME OF IT’S THE EXTRA ATTITUDE EXPLANATIONS GRANDMA WILL GIVE ME WHEN I NEED SOME HELP WITH FINDING A SOLUTION. SERIOUS CONFUSION OR SAFETY GRANDMA HELPS ME WITH BOTH ISSUES JANE.

    I’M NOT A DISABLED PERSON WHO DOESN’T ADMIT WHAT SHE DID, I’M ONE WHO’LL LISTEN QUIETLY, ADMIT MY RECENT MISTAKE, FIRMLY PROMISE TO NOT DO IT AGAIN AND APOLOGIZE ALL AT ONCE, INSTEAD OF FUSS OR COMPLAIN.

    I AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT HOW RARE COMMON SENSE IS JANE. Stability and strength are 2 of my other values of life.

    I’M NOT TRYING TO BRAG AT ALL IN THIS COMMENT DEAR JANE, I JASMINE OLSON AM JUST TRYING TO TELL YOU SOME OF THE SPECIALTIES THAT ARE DOUBTLESS WITH MY GRANDMA AND ME. AND WHY THEY’RE DOUBTLESS IS BECAUSE THEY’RE THE QUALITIES PEOPLE MENTION WHEN WE’RE THERE GIVING THEM OUR SUPPORT.

Leave a Reply

