Reading Time and Then Some

As those of you who read the Wednesday Wanderings already know, I had all four wisdom teeth out on January 27.  Recovery gave me a lot of time to read…

Kel Contemplates Pop Divadom

Kel Contemplates Pop Divadom

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Kitty Goes to War by Carrie Vaughn.  Audiobook.  Not the war I anticipated, but an interesting story nonetheless.

Maddigan’s Fantasia by Margaret Mahy.  I really liked this one.  Quite different from Alchemy, but inventive in a different way.

Somebody to Love? A Rock-and Roll Memoir by Grace Slick with Andrea Cagan.   1998 autobiography (with Ms. Cagan’s role in the collaborative writing process explained more than usual, which appealed to me).  Ironically, when I went to look up if Slick had updated the volume, I learned that Paul Kantner and Signe Anderson (both founding members of Jefferson Airplane) had just died, on the same day, both age 74.

Bluefeather Fellini in the Sacred Realms by Max Evans.  I read Bluefeather Fellini last year and wanted to read the sequel.  This book is hard to categorize, but I found it oddly fascinating.

In Progress:

Going Bovine by Libba Bray.  Audiobook.  Very different from her “Diviners” novels, but in ways I find appealing.

Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman.  Short story collection.  About four stories in.  Saving the introductions to individual pieces until I’ve read the story.

Also:

While in waiting rooms, I looked at some alien texts: People magazine and its ilk.  Clearly, I live on a different planet.  I don’t know who two-thirds of these “celebrities” are or care about two-thirds of the topics discussed.

13 Responses to “Reading Time and Then Some”

  1. Peter Says:

    Been travelling this week (spending the pre-New Year’s holiday in Hong Kong), which means “catching up on my short fiction reading” – I find short stories a perfect way to pass the time waiting in a check-in line, or taking an airport shuttle.

    Read all the Expanse side-novellas, Carrie Vaughn’ collection “Straying from the Path”, and “Curiosities”, have a collection of Tanya Huff’s Quarters shorts up next.

    Really enjoyed Curiosities – the stories were, as expected, wonderful and varied, but what I enjoyed most was the little “slice of write” introductions to each story, which I’m a sucker for. (Plus it has my current favourite opening line in it.)

    • janelindskold Says:

      Thanks for the kind words about CURIOSITIES. Amused I wrote a “favourite opening line.” Makes me smile. And wonder a little…

      • Peter Says:

        To satisfy your curiousity(ies?) it’s “Twisting around on his galloping camel and glimpsing the pursuing Bedouin resolving into form within the dust cloud stirred to life by their own pounding mounts, Neville Hawthorne spared precious breath to curse the day Alphonse Liebermann had come to Egypt.”, which beats out “In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.”, “Snow, tenderly caught by eddying breezes, swirled and spun in to and out of bright, lustrous shapes that gleamed against the emerald-blazoned black drape of sky and sparkled there for a moment, hanging, before settling gently to the soft, green-tufted plain with all the sickly sweetness of an over-written sentence.”, and “His followers called him Mahasamatman and said he was a god.” as my current all-time favourite opening line.

        (Bonus points if you can identify all three books and their authors, although two of them are quite easy.)

      • Jane Lindskold Says:

        The Hobbit.

        No idea, but I like the last clause…

        Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny!

      • Peter Says:

        I did say two of them were quite easy… 🙂

        The last one’s from Steven Brust’s To Reign In Hell (and I agree, it’s the last clause that makes the whole thing work).

  2. Paul Says:

    I’m with Peter on “Curiosities.” Really like the little notes on how many of the stories came about, and it goes without saying that the stories themselves are great.

  3. David Dunham Says:

    Robert Heinlein’s Citizen of the Galaxy (Graphic Novel). Enjoyed it while reading it, but then reached the end and didn’t understand the finale. At a mere three issues, I’m guessing the authors rushed it.

    The Sea Lady by H. G. Wells. A mermaid washes up on the beach, and is taken in by a socially-conscious family. A chest of jewels affords her a maid, a coach, and all the proprieties of life on land. A wonderful look at the English class system at the turn of the 20th Century.

    • chadmerkley Says:

      The original novel CITIZEN had a pretty open ending, without resolving some of the major conflicts in the book, but left the characters prepared to deal with them. I wouldn’t call that “ambiguous” but maybe the graphic novel altered some of that.

      I’ve noticed Jane has done the same kind of thing in several of her novels–leaving some conflct open, but the characters have grown and are prepared to deal with the problems (WOLF”S BLOOD, FIVE ODD HONORS, and to some extent in CHILD OF A RAINLESS YEAR, THE BURIED PYRAMID, LORD DEMON). I kind of like the the fact that everything’s not just “happily ever after”.

  4. Paul Says:

    David Dunham: If you read (or already have read) Heinlein’s actual book, I’d be interested to know if the ending is still ambiguous.

  5. chadmerkley Says:

    Jane, I might recognize most of the names in PEOPLE magazine, but I wouldn’t be able to say much about them. It’s kind of sad to see entertainers, working for large corporations, being advertised as the role models for the world. All the craft and effort and practice gets hidden behind the flashy production and PR campaigns.

    I read Bujold’s new book GENTLEMAN JOLE AND THE RED QUEEN. The plot was fairly predictable, I thought. Had some interesting ideas and developments on themes from the earlier Vorkosigan books, but not on a par with her some of her other work.

    I also read a great novella called GENRENAUTS: THE SHOOTOUT SOLUTION. Creative, funny, ridiculous, and a great quick read. I’m looking forward to the sequels.

    I also got Patricia McKillip’s new book KINGFISHER from the library this morning. Looking forward to it.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’d been wondering about the new Bujold…

      But I had NO idea there was a new McKillip!!! Thank you!!! Fan girl squee….

      • chadmerkley Says:

        I finished KINGFISHER last night. Very cool take on a very old story. I liked it a lot. I was slightly disappointed that it didn’t have cover art by Kinuko Y. Craft like most of the other McKillip books, but her art wouldn’t quite fit this story.

  6. henrietta abeyta Says:

    HOW ABOUT GUARDIAN HERD, PEGASUS, SONG OF THE WANDERER, OR THE DRAGON SERIES OF O’ DALEY

    THE FIRE WITHIN, ICE FIRE AND A FEW MORE IN THIS SERIES.

Leave a Reply

