FF: Like Potato Chips

It’s very strange but, although I’ve been writing a lot, I’ve also been reading a lot.  I’m in one of those moods where as soon as I put down one book, I need to restrain myself from picking up another.

I Wonder How This Tastes?

I Wonder How This Tastes?

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Prestige by Christopher Priest.  Audiobook.  Good detail, but I did feel that one of the major plot elements was not satisfactorily resolved, which undermined the complexity, replacing it with a sense of…  dare I say “prestidigitation”?

Reality Boy by A.S. King.  Not a “fun” book, but a very satisfying one.  A.S. King continues to rise in my already high estimation.

Night Gate by Isobelle Carmody.  This upper level middle grade novel uses the “crossing into a fantasy world from our world” in a creative fashion.  And the dogs…  And goat!

They Do It With Mirrors, Seven Dials Mystery, and The Secret of Chimneys, all by Agatha Christie.  For some reason, this week I fell into a real Agatha Christie mood.  I’m finding her novels are like potato chips, I can’t eat – make that “read” – just one.

In Progress:

Od Magic by Patricia McKillip.  Audiobook.  I’d been meaning to get to this, but kept forgetting.  Enjoying.

Maskwork by Jennifer Foreman.  Part history of the form, part project book.  Entirely fascinating.

Winter Door by Isobelle Carmody.  Just starting.

Also:

Research reading of various types.

6 Responses to “FF: Like Potato Chips”

  1. Paul Says:

    Just finished “Chindits” by Jack McDevitt, and wonder why I hadn’t taken a friend’s advice to read him sooner.

  2. Dawn Barela Says:

    I love Agatha Christie’s mysteries. I started reading them when I was about 10. But I have only read maybe one third of them.My Mom loved them. She loved the Mystery genre especially. Dorothy Gilman, Ngaio Marsh and Lillian Jackson Braun are the other authors I remember. .When I was little My Dad carried a list of the ones she didn’t have and would buy her one every so often. I thought that was so cool. Eventually she had all of them. I wish I had been able to get them all when she downsized. I did not have enough shelf space! Tomorrow is their 56th anniversary. It will be the first one my Dad is alone. I have a few of Agatha Christie’s books. I will have to read them again soon.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Maybe you could read your dad an Agatha Christie short story in memory of your Mom?

      • Dawn Barela Says:

        That is a possibility. But I probably will just see about having dinner with him this weekend. He has never been a reader himself. That was his romantic gesture to her. Instead of flowers or the like.

  3. David Dunham Says:

    First there was popcorn fiction. Now it’s potato chip fiction. Can French Fry Fiction be far behind?

    Last week, I read Resolution, the sequel to Robert B Parker’s western Appaloosa, and Conan and the Spider God by L. Sprague de Camp. As to whether those novels should be likened to fast food, I’ll leave to the experts to decide.

    Oh no! I just found a pimple!

Leave a Reply

