FF: Bingeing SPQR

Last week I started re-reading John Maddox Roberts’ excellent SPQR mystery series.  This week, I kept going and probably would still be going if a few library books hadn’t come in!

I'm Adorable!  Put the book DOWN!

I’m Adorable! Put the book DOWN!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The Catiline Conspiracy by John Maddox Roberts.  Second SPQR novel.

The Sacrilege by John Maddox Roberts.  Third SPQR novel.

The Temple of the Muses by John Maddox Roberts.  Fourth SPQR novel.

Saturnalia by John Maddox Roberts.  Fifth SPQR novel.  Obviously,  I find these addictive!

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  Pretty fun.  I’ll definitely keep an eye open for the sequel.

In Progress:

The Storybook of Legends “Ever After High #1.”  Just started.  I mentioned this series in my WW about Action Figures a few weeks ago.

Of Dice and Men by David M. Ewalt.  “The Story of Dungeons & Dragons and the People Who Play It.”  I saw this on the library shelf and was tempted.  I haven’t played D&D is about twenty years, but it’s where I started as a tabletop RPG player, a hobby I pursue to this day.

Also:

Origami books.  I am SO challenged by the patterns….

6 Responses to “FF: Bingeing SPQR”

  1. Jas. Marshall 6 Says:

    Recently read:
    Doorways in the Sand, by Roger Zelazny (re-read, one of my old favorites)
    various short stories, nothing that stuck with me enough to remember it for this list

    Currently reading:
    the three volume “Journey to the West” by Wu Cheng’en, as translated by WJF Jenner – this set was a gift from my students when I taught in China; I dragged those things all the way home and decided it was finally time to sit down and read them, all 1800 pages.
    (They’re fun, but this may take me a while, although even the early chapters have explained a LOT about what I was seeing in that Thomas Gibson TV movie based on the characters. Finally, some of it makes sense.)

  2. chadmerkley Says:

    I can’t find copies of the SPQR books at any of the local libraries or used bookstores. Looks like I have to wait until next month when I have money to give to Amazon.

    Jane, one of my major responses to Magnus Chase was “Why did Riordan go back to first person POV?” I thought that the Heroes of Olympus series in third person (with the multiple characters as POV) was a much, much stronger work than the original Percy Jackson books or the Kane Chronicles. Magnus was fun to read, but I might have liked it better without some of the flippant, teenage humor and voice. Maybe I just don’t get what appeals to his primary YA audience.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Interesting… Was Percy 1st person? I can’t remember. I thought it was.

      I haven’t read the Kane Chronicles.

      My guess re: Magnus is that Riordan wanted the intimacy — and 1st person is very popular in YA. As of this point, there isn’t a large cast to split the POV among. He may shift later if this story ends up with a larger cast.

      I hope you like SPQR when you try it.

  3. Paul Says:

    I still have some of John’s early SF novels.

Leave a Reply

