FF: Reading Somethings Old, Lots New

This week only one YA or younger book…  and that one was as carryover from last week. Didn’t have an audiobook for the weekend…  Nearly went into withdrawal!

Persephone Steals the Shelf!

Persephone Steals the Shelf!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Maze of Bones, 1st 39 Clues novel by Rick Riordan.  Audiobook.  Part of a vast, multi-author.  I think I’ve seen another of these (“Spirit Animals”) being marketed in a very similar way (multiple authors, on-line support, “where do you belong” etc., sense of being tied to a computer game.)  Can anyone tell me if this is a new trend?

Nobody Loves a Centurion by John Maddox Roberts.  SPQR 6.  Decius is with Julius Caesar in Gaul.

The Tribune’s Curse by John Maddox Roberts.  SPQR 7.  Decius back in Rome.  Things are so bad he keeps wishing he were back in Gaul.

In Progress:

The River God’s Vengeance by John Maddox Roberts.  SPQR 8.  Don’t forget to clean the sewers!

Ghost Walker by Margaret Coel.  Audiobook.  Ms. Coel is keynote speaker for the UNM Writer’s Conference, where I’m giving the post-lunch talk.  Thought I’d try one of her books.

Gaming at the Edge: Sexuality and Gender at the Margins of Gamer Culture by Adrienne Shaw.  “Gamer” here means video, not RPG.  Interesting, but dense.  Only reading a bit at a time.

Also:

Re-read or read for the first time a bunch of pieces in the 1970 Science Fiction Hall of Fame anthology.

6 Responses to “FF: Reading Somethings Old, Lots New”

  1. Paul Says:

    Re-read (skimmed) Asimov’s first two autobiograhical volumes which I’d read long ago in trade paperback, after I bought hardback ex-library versions for a buck apiece at a library book sale. A previous owner who obviously didn’t think much of Asimov had inserted criticisms and remarks here and there in pencil. While I didn’t agree with all of them, they made the re-read a bit more spicy and interesting.

  2. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Quite True dear Jane I JASMINE OSLON am a skillful message finder especially if I’ve read the same book repeatedly.

    LAND OF ELYON

    AVALON WEB OF MAGIC

    GUARDIANS OF GA- HOOLE and you return with THE WOLVES OF THE BEYOND the two groups have worked together over a thousand years. Again I have an easier time outlining the wolves than to do with the hundreds of owls in this GA- HOOLE WORLD. The owls help me see a few things but it’s the wolves who make me Reread the 24 BOOKS IN THE WHOLE GA-HOOLE SERIES.

    1 THE RISE OF A LEGEND
    2 THE CAPTURE
    3 THE JOURNEY
    4 THE RESCUE
    5 THE SIEGE
    6 THE SHATTERING
    7 THE BURNING
    8 THE HATCHLING
    9 THE OUTCAST
    10 THE FIRST COLLIER
    11 THE COMING OF HOOLE
    12 TO BE A KING
    13 THE GOLDEN TREE
    14 THE RIVER OF WIND
    15 EXILE
    16 THE WAR OF THE EMBER
    17 LOST TALE OF GA- HOOLE
    18 A GUIDE BOOK OF THE GREAT TREE

    THIS IS THE LONG OWL SET IN THE LIST ABOVE, THE WOLF SET IS FAOLAN’S STORY, AND YOU’RE RUNNING AROUND ABOVE THE OWL WORLD.

    1 LONE WOLF
    2 SHADOW WOLF
    3 WATCH WOLF
    4 FROST WOLF
    5 SPIRIT WOLF
    6 STAR WOLF

    I’ll only buy my favorites of Kathryn Lasky’s GA – HOOLE series. it feels like I can’t do without FAOLAN’S 6 book story at all, though I can do without most of the owl books because too many snakes and for me the war lasts too long. THE COOPERATION AND CONCENTRATION ARE WHAT MAKE THIS LONG STORY TALK TO ME

    HAMISH quite a considerate wolf

    FINBAR is good at concentrating on how to quickly gaining enough information to solve problems with the least difficulty.

    GYLLBANE quite a courage female wolf

    EDME totally tolerant about beliefs and compassionate too.

    ABBAN he proves sometimes your words sound crazy but your thoughts are still sensible. He’s a wolf pup who FAOLAN thinks is in the sea’s mind after his rescue from drowning.

    MYRRGLOSCH like me has a simple time feeling things as he uses his imagination. He’s a wolf pup who proves there are time the loss of someone or something isn’t your fault.

    MAUDIE a wolf pup so young she’s mostly just cautious and talkative.

    WHISTLER an honest wolf

    LLIAM prove don’t pretend to be someone else because you’re not the only one to become despaired and sure try to be as decisive as you can you don’t want to make things worse, once in a while we have to be decisive at a certain speed. He’s a wolf who recently succeeded a chieftain’s place and he struggles.

    DUNCAN MACDUNCAN forgives resolves and supports FAOLAN privately telling FAOLAN what he must practice in encouraging phrases that give FAOLAN hints of how to improve.

    RAGS he’s good at repressing his misery and he controls his fear of HEEP well, it’s likely RAGS is flexible too because later he makes a firm decision to join FAOLAN’S side and ignoring HEEP.

    THE SARK is concentrative and soft- hearted too.

    WINKS is inspiring she doesn’t only leap volcanoes she tells EDME about the inner eye being useful and how sometimes we need to use our inner eye more thinner our two outer eyes that show.

    MORAG is quite a perseverant female wolf she FAOLAN’S mom.

    MHARIE AND DARLEA they’re FAOLAN’S sisters and indeed the 2 of them are physically strong and noble in their personalities.

    THIS ISN’T EVERYBODY BUT THESE ARE THE ONES I CAN OUTLINE WITHOUT PEEKING INTO THE BOOKS.

    I MYSELF WOULDN’T STRUGGLE WITH BEING NOBLE AT ALL EVEN IF A WOLF COMES CLOSE AND GIVES ACTIVE GREETINGS, I’D JUST WONDER WHAT THAT WOLF TOLD ME. I SIMPLY UNDERSTAND THE REAL MEANINGS OF THE WOLF’S ADVICE. I’M A WOLFGIRL NOT A COWLGIRL THE HORSES ARE THE ONLY FARM ANIMAL I ACTUALLY LIKE ENOUGH TO STAY NEAR. INDEED I’LL OBEY THE LAWS BUT WHEN IT COMES TO EMOTIONAL FRIENDSHIP AND REAL KINDNESS I’M A BIT LIKE AN ANIMATED MOTION PICTURE FEMALE. 2 WORLDS ONE FAMILY. I HAVE LOVE INTEREST AND I WANT TO KEEP THE WOLVES’ HOPES ALIVE SO I WATCH THEIR RESPECTFUL YOUTUBE VIDEOS TOO. I’D TRY TO RESCUE LIKE JANE IN TARAZAN’S STORY, AND LIKE YOU TOO DEAR JANE LINDSKOLD I WOULDN’T BE AFRAID TO HUG A WOLF GENTLY, I’D WATCH QUIETLY LIKE LINDA IN THE 2 ANIMATED MOVIES OF RIO, I’D STAND UP FOR THE WOLF PACKS JUST LIKE ESMERELDA STANDS UP FOR QUASIMODO AND HER GYPSY PEOPLE, AND I’D ENJOY THEIR COMPANY LIKE BETH IN THE ANIMATED MOVIE OPEN SEASON, SHE’S A PARK RANGER WHO LOVES BOOG THE MIGHTY GRIZZLY. I’M A FRIEND OF THEIRS WHO’S MORE LIKELY TO GIGGLE AND BE WATCHFUL AT THE SAME TIME WHILE THE PACK MEMBERS TAKE TURNS TOUCHING ME OR RUNNING WITH ME, SOMETIMES I EVEN FEEL LIKE I’M IN A FOREST THOUGH I’M AT HOME ON THE COUCH, IN THE TUB, OR IN OUR SHORT UPSTAIRS HALL.

    THEIR ATTITUDE AND SPIRIT ARE CLEAR ENOUGH I CAN’T STAND TO LOSE THEM!!!! THE SOUNDS THE WOLVES CAN MAKE AREN’T WHAT CONFUSE ME, IT’S THE NUMBER OF TONES AND VOLUMES THEY ALL USE. THEY’RE DEEP IN MY HEART, AND I HAVE ENOUGH INSIGHT THAT AS NEEDED MY SELF- ENCOURAGEMENTS ARE ENDLESS, WITH WOLVES. AND EQUALITY IS WHY THE WOLVES NEVER LEAVE MY MIND.

    JANE LINDSKOLD’S BOOK FAN JASMINE OLSON SHARING FIRM OPINIONS AND VISUALIZATIONS OF KINDNESS THAT POP UP REPEATEDLY IN HER HEART AND MIND.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Willing to learn in multiple ways dear Jane, I’m flexible. hear, see in my sight, visualize, read, watch, when I learn as much as I do from wolves a big part is I concentrate on their true character while I also ask myself how would I feel if the same thing had happened to me, or I privately do some reasoning using science facts while figuring out consequences. Plus my courage and patience and tolerance too.

    A WOLF SANCTUARY, OR YELLOWSTONE, IT FEELS LIKE A TRIP NEAR THEIR HOME WOULD BE CONSIDERED THE ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME I’D GO ON WHEN POSSIBLE.

    JASMINE OLSON EXPRESSING THE TRIP SHE FEELS LIKE HER HEART CAN’T SKIP THE FUN OF.

  4. henrietta abeyta Says:

    IT ISN’T ONLY SELF- ENCOURAGEMENTS THE WOLVES HELP ME HOLD THEY ALSO HELP ME HOLD A GOOD AMOUNT OF SELF- ACCEPTANCE. IT’S POSSIBLE THAT THROUGH MY SCHOOL YEARS, THEY’RE THE ONES WHO HELPED ME KEEP CALM DURING THE DIFFICULT MOMENTS OF BEING LAUGHED AT.

    WOLF TOTEM EXPLANATION ON SITES

    I HAVE SYMPATHY OF HOW IT FEELS WHEN YOU HAVE AN OFFENSIVE REPUTATION BECAUSE YOU’RE MISUNDERSTOOD BY MOST PEOPLE.

    I DISLIKE BEING ALONE JUST LIKE THE WOLVES DO THEMSELVES.

    EVEN WHEN I’M FACE TO FACE WITH A PHOTO OF A CALM WOLF IT’S LIKE I HEARD IT WHISPER YOU’VE GOT THE STRENGTH TO PROVE YOURSELF, AND THE QUALITIES TO EARN YOUR DESIRE, HAVE FAITH AND HOPE YOU CAN DO IT.

    WHEN I FEEL LIKE I’M STANDING NEXT TO A WOLF STARING GENTLY I FEEL LIKE IT SAID YOU’LL HAVE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM ON YOUR OWN HOWEVER I’LL HELP YOU FIND THE HIDDEN DOOR OF THE PATH TO YOUR FRESH START.

    I’VE ALREADY BEEN CLOSE TO A FEW MALAMUTES WHO WERE THERAPY DOGS, AND I’VE BEEN CLOSE TO HUSKIES WHO GREET YOU BEHIND THE FENCE AS WELL AS THE HUSKIES WHO ARE WALKED DAILY. PLUS ONE OF OUR CURRENT NEIGHBORS USED TO HAVE A RELAXED ESKIMO DOG.

    JASMINE OLSON EXPRESSING MORE PLEASURE OF THIS STRONG BOND WITH HER WOLF FRIENDS.

Leave a Reply

