FF: Gods, Ghosts, Games

It’s been a heck of a busy week, with reviewing my own work cutting into my ability to read other people’s.

Silver Contemplates Rome

Silver Contemplates Rome

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

The River God’s Vengeance by John Maddox Roberts.  SPQR 8.  By this point in the series, Decius is definitely a more serious person.  Interesting think how this shift occurred in tiny stages.

Ghost Walker by Margaret Coel.  Audiobook.  Ms. Coel was keynote speaker for the UNM Writer’s Conference, where I gave the post-lunch talk.  Enjoyable.  Will probably read more in the series.

In Progress:

Gaming at the Edge: Sexuality and Gender at the Margins of Gamer Culture by Adrienne Shaw.  “Gamer” here means video, not RPG.  Interesting, but dense.  Decided to focus more on reading this.  Unhappily, the author’s focus is not as tight as it could be.

Who Am I? Pete Townsend.  Audiobook.  Read by Pete Townsend.  Townsend’s thoughtful, incisive view of his own struggles to realize complex artistic visions is fascinating.  His reading is quite good and means that the text is his own, not “interpreted” by a reader.  This is a huge bonus for autobiography.

Also:

Lots of research stuff, as well as my “read-aloud” of my manuscript of Asphodel.

5 Responses to “FF: Gods, Ghosts, Games”

  1. Paul Says:

    Am reading a couple of new e-books on Allan “Rocky” Lane, the B-western star who secretly became the voice of TV’s “Mr. Ed,” and model/actress/serial star Kay Aldridge, which is a little disappointing – mostly press clippings interspersed with more interesting comments from her daughter. I think I learned more behind-the-scenes stuff from the late actress when she attended a nearby media con than is revealed in this book.

  2. Louis Robinson Says:

    While many people, perhaps including Mr Roberts, take if for granted that anything with “SPQR” must reference the ancient Republic, tain’t necessarily so.

    In fact, every piece of official metalwork in the modern city of Rome sports those initials. From the manhole covers on up.

  3. chadmerkley Says:

    I haven’t done much reading this week (I’ve been at a music workshop since Monday), but I did get through the first two SPQR books. They were fun. The first one telegraphed the ending, I thought. I’m putting the rest of the series in the “I’m not actively looking for these books, but I’ll read them if I run into them” category.

    Several years ago, I read the Falco books by Lindsey Davis, another series of mysteries set in ancient Rome. They’re set about 100 years after the SPQR books, in the reign of Vespasian and Titus. They make an interesting contrast in tone and setting to Robert’s books–they’re less concerned with the accuracy of the history and politics, and more with the characterization.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I read a couple of the LIndsey Davis and thought, okay, but if I’m going to do historical (whether mystery or straight), I want to believe the people have the values of their time.

      SPQR isn’t so much “whodunnit” as “whydunnit.” And those “whys” fascinate me.

      Hope the workshop was inspirational!

  4. henrietta abeyta Says:

    IT’S A MYSTERY HOW THE LORD CREATED US, AND WHAT THE LORD’S REAL NAME, IS BUT WE CREATE OUR OWN LIVES WITH OUR VARIOUS SELF-CONCEPT DESCRIPTIONS.

Leave a Reply

