FF: Comfort Books

I’ve had a rather horrible cold for the last week or so.  Along with lots of homemade chicken soup and orange juice, I’ve been treating with liberal doses of stories I know I like.

Ogapoge Sets Sail

Ogapoge Sets Sail

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Light Thickens, Death at the Bar, Scales of Justice, all by Ngaoi Marsh.  Audiobooks.  As mentioned above, “comfort reading” while sick and recovering.

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rumdell.  Emphasis on setting and style over character and plot.

The Princess and the Pirates by John Maddox Roberts.  SPQR IX.  The “princess” is sixteen year-old Cleopatra.  The pirates are off the newly acquired Roman territory of Cyprus – acquired from Egypt.

In Progress:

Black as He’s Painted by Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.

Attack on Titan by Hashima Isayama.  Manga.  Volumes 5 and following.

A Point of Law by John Maddox Roberts.  SPQR X.  Decius is back in Rome.  Pirates are easier to deal with than his fellow Romans.

Also:

Taking a break from the “Great Courses” mythology stuff until my head’s a bit clearer.

6 Responses to “FF: Comfort Books”

  1. Paul Says:

    Just finished “As Time Goes By” (how often has that title been used?) by Mary Higgins Clark. It relies heavily on coincidence but turned out much better than I expected, having been disappointed in one of her books many years ago…but my wife has liked them all. Glad I gave her another chance.

  2. chadmerkley Says:

    I totally understand the “comfort books” thing. I do it, too. New stuff I read recently includes lots of Janet Kagan: HELLSPARK, MIRABILE, and a short story collection. Very good stuff. Some humor mixed in with serious issues. I also read Rick Riordan’s new book THE HIDDEN ORACLE. It’s the first of a new storyline set in the Percy Jackson universe. Pretty good, but I hope that the rest of the series picks up a little.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    BOOK FRIENDS, GUIDANCE FROM FICTION BOOKS, COMFORT BOOKS, AND ADVENTURE BOOKS LIKE YOURS DEAR JANE LINDSKOLD USED TO STUDY LIFE’S BASIC WAYS TO BE GENTLE AND LOOK OUT FOR YOURSELF AT THE SAME TIME. I READ FOR ALL OF THESE REASONS.

    STEADY TRUTHFUL AND LOYAL LIKE BLIND SEER IS TO FIREKEEPER. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF ( TRUST) IT’S FEELING LIKE YOU’RE TELLING YOURSELF THE TRUTH THAT HELPS YOU GAIN THE SKILLS QUICK!!

    JASMINE OLSON

Leave a Reply

