FF: Fair Trade Reading

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Kwahe'e Sprawls

Kwahe’e Sprawls

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Attack on Titan by Hashima Isayama.  Manga.  Volumes 11-17.  A rare story in that the more I read, the more I like it.  This has developed far beyond the gross-out horror war story it seemed at the start.

A Box of Pandoras by Steve Brewer.  Light, comic mystery set in New Mexico.  Good use of setting.  New Mexico really IS this weird.

In Progress:

Death in Holy Orders by P.D. James.  Audiobook.  Into part three and the body count is rising.  Not sure how I feel about that…  Especially in a mystery in an isolated setting, this seems a very stupid thing for a killer to do.

Gate of Ivrel by C.J. Cherryh.  The article by Betsy Wollheim celebrating C.J. Cherryh being named this year’s SFWA Grand Master made me realize I’d always meant to read this novel.  Just started.

Also:

I had a great visit with my mom last weekend, so I didn’t read as much as I usually would.  A fair trade indeed.

28 Responses to “FF: Fair Trade Reading”

  1. Louis Robinson Says:

    Gate of Ivrel: you’re in for a treat, IMV, with the Morgaine stories, despite bouts of angst.

    The caption on the photo should be a book title, along the lines of Coyote Waits.

  2. henrietta abeyta Says:

    WELL I’M SURE NOT PICKY ABOUT SPIRITUAL STORIES WHETHER MOVIE OR FICTION BOOK TALES. I TOTALLY ENJOY SEEING VISIONS OF PARADISE/ HEAVEN WHILE LEARNING WHAT THE HEROIC CHARACTERS DO.

    I LOVE WOLVES ENOUGH THAT MY MAIN QUESTION IS HOW FERAL THIS OTHER FOREST GIRL SAN ACTS IN HER STORY TITLED PRINCESS MONONOKE DONE BY STUDIO GHIBLI. IF THIS FOREST GIRL SAN ONLY USES HER KNIFE MOSTLY FOR PROTECTION AND RIDES A WOLF FOR NOT FALLING FAR BEHIND WHILE THE PACK’S BUSY HUNTING, OR EVEN IF SHE HAS SCENES OF SAVING THE FOREST LIKE YOUR FIREKEEPER DOES THAT’LL BE A FINE STORY. ONLY IF THIS GIRL SAN BITES WILL SHE BE OUT OF MY COLLECTION.

    DESPITE HOW THE PICTURES OF THIS FOREST GIRL SAN LOOK ON THE INTERNET, I LIKE THE PRINCESS MONONOKE SOUNDTRACK MUSIC, IT’S SURE SOFTER THAN EXPECTED.

    PLUS IT DOESN’T MATTER WHERE YOU ENTER PARADISE/HEAVEN THIS BEAUTIFUL PLACE IS NEVER SHORT OF JOY!! WHAT THE FARIES IN SLEEPING BEAUTY SAY IS TRUE THERE IS THE JOY OF HELPING OTHERS.

    THIS IS YOUR FANTASY FAN JASMINE OLSON TALKING WHO DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT THE STUDIO GHIBLI COLLECTION UNTIL THIS YEAR NEAR THE END OF SPRING.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I’ve seen Princess Mononoke and like it, but the story is a very complicated — and sometimes deeply frightening — one. Just a warning. I like it, but I know it’s not toll all tastes.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    THANKS JANE. It’s thoughtful of you to alert me of San’s movie scenes ahead of time. Except I’ll probably do fine whenever we find it at a library first. MOVIES WITH VIOLENT ARGUING TEENS ARE THE KIND THAT UNSETTLE ME THE QUICKEST AND IN SCHOOL SCIENCE WAS ONE OF THE CLASSES I DID THE BEST IN.

    FANTASY AND SPIRITUAL STORIES I HAVE PLENTY OF DISNEY’S OLDER MOVIES TO HELP ME COMPARE SAN’S PHOTO APPEARANCE. IN FACT I’LL TELL YOU, AS YOU AND I HAVE A BIT OF SKILL ON GUESSING WHAT WE’RE SEEING A WOLF DO, DISNEY’S MOVIE WHITE FANG 2 THE MYTH OF THE WHITE WOLF WAS ABLE TO MAKE ME LAUGH. IN WHITE FANG 2 YOU MEET ONE OF ALAKA’S REAL NATIVE AMERICAN TRIBES.

    SIMILARITIES I CAN ALREADY SEE FROM TRAILERS AND PHOTOS OF PRINCESS MONONOKE IN READING SKILLS

    It has multiple lords like stories of Hercules despite animal form

    The Forest Spirit changes his form a little a tad like Genie can

    In a few photos San’s on a wolf like Mowgli on Bagheera’s back

    The animals in this story cooperate like those in BROTHER BEAR

    Like your FIREKEEPER AND Fern Gully they’re saving the forest

    Like Tarzan born with Gorillas San knows the wolves quite well

    In this story the wild Boars just have a harder time than the hyenas do in the LION KING movie of DISNEY’S

    A little like it is with DONKEY in Shrek the antelope looks friendly

    Like in NARNIA these 2 kids in Princess Mononoke work together

    ROBOTS, TROLLS, GHOSTS, there are many tiny characters the komadas are similar to in their appearance.

    AND AS MUCH AS THE TWO OF US LOVE WOLVES AND HAVE OUR PROOF FROM OUR EXPRESSIONS AS WELL AS OUR SIMILAR ENTERTAINMENT COLLECTION, MY OTHER CURRENT QUESTION IS HAVE YOU READ THIS NEW SERIES

    SONG OF THE SUMMER KING is the first book it has a she wolf

    this series is about the leadership of a gryfon/ gryphon/ griffin

    JESSE E. OWEN IS THE AUTHOR IF THIS NEW SERIES DEAR JANE LINDSKOLD. OFFER BECAUSE OF INTEREST AS WELL SINCE SOME OF YOU WHO ARE THE BEST AUTHORS ONCE IN WHILE CONTACT EACH OTHER.

    THIS IS JASMINE OLSON GIVING A LITTLE MORE OPINION AND ATTITUDE FACTS OF HER OWN REACTIONS.

  4. henrietta abeyta Says:

    I CAN KEEP QUIET BUT WHEN THE WHOLE MOVIE HAS A GROUP OF VIOLENT ARGUING TEENS I’M SO UNSETTLED THAT I’LL HAVE TROUBLE SLEEPING THROUGH THE NIGHT.

    FANTASY MOSTLY HELPS ME QUICKLY FIND HINTS OF LIFE,
    LIKE WHY I MENTIONED THE NEW SERIES OF JESSE E. OWEN THAT BEGINS WITH SONG OF THE SUMMER KING IS I’LL SEE WHAT ELSE I CAN LEARN FROM THE SHE WOLF’S WORDS, HOWEVER TO LEARN THAT ALLIES AND ENEMIES DON’T ONLY DO WITH GOVERNMENT STUFF I ONLY HAD TO READ THIS CHAPTER BOOK’S SUMMARY.

    THE ABILITY TO DISTINGUISH WHAT KIND OF SPEECH YOU’RE HEARING AND VISUAL THINKING ARE TWO OF THE MOST HELPFUL SKILLS.

    JASMINE OLSON SHARING A LITTLE EXPLANATION.

  5. henrietta abeyta Says:

    THE BEGINNING OF GRANDMA AND ME DISCOVERING STUDIO GHIBLI MOVIES STARTED WITH SPIRITED AWAY.

    AND HOW THIS JESSE E. OWEN SERIES POPPED UP WAS WHEN I WAS PEEKING AT THE FANTASY SERIES CALLED THE GUARDIAN HERD BECAUSE DESPITE THE DAYS OF WAR PEGASUS EXPERIENCES HE’S ONE OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS TO SEE THE FORM OF.

    CASTLE IN THE SKY
    THE SECRET WORLD OF ARRIETTY
    WHEN MARNIE WAS THERE

    These are the other three Studio Ghibli movies I completely liked the scenes of, so far as we just keep finding these Studio Ghibli films at the Weber County Library.

    JASMINE OLSON

  6. henrietta abeyta Says:

    THE BEGINNING OF GRANDMA AND ME DISCOVERING STUDIO GHIBLI MOVIES STARTED WITH SPIRITED AWAY

    CASTLE IN THE SKY
    THE SECRET WORLD OF ARRIETTY
    WHEN MARNIE WAS THERE

    These are the other three Studio Ghibli movies I completely liked the scenes of, so far as we just keep finding these Studio Ghibli films at the Weber County Library.

    FEATHERDUST
    GOODREADS WEBSITE

    These are two book websites I’ve discovered unexpectedly.

    JASMINE OLSON

  7. henrietta abeyta Says:

    MY APOLOGIES OF SAYING THE SAME THING TWICE DEAR JANE…………. I’M JUST NOT AT ALL USED TO WHEN COMPUTERS REFUSE TO POST OPINIONS. OR SEEM TO REFUSE BECAUSE OF HOW SLOWLY THE NEWEST COMMENT APPEARS.

  8. henrietta abeyta Says:

    SORRY I NEVER MEAN TO IRRITATE SUCH A GOOD ACQUAINTANCE LIKE YOU.

  9. henrietta abeyta Says:

    THIS HAPPENED BECAUSE OF BOTH MY AUTISM AND BECAUSE GRANDMA AND I BOTH HAVE VERY LITTLE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT WHEN COMPUTERS NEED REPAIRED AND WHEN THEY’RE JUST DOING STUFF SLOWER AND WE’RE NOT USED TO DARK SCREENED COMPUTERS EITHER.

    WE KNOW A FEW GUYS WHO ARE USED TO FIXING ELECTRIC THINGS BUT WE, GRANDMA MOM AND I DON’T HAVE THAT MUCH KNOWLEDGE ABOUT MACHINES OURSELVES.

  10. henrietta abeyta Says:

    I’M ONLY USED TO WHEN YOUR SITE HAS THE NEWEST COMMENT FLASHING AND POSTING FAST.

  11. henrietta abeyta Says:

    GOOD AT SOCIAL SKILLS AND GOOD AT REAL ENTERTAINMENT, YOUR WORDS ON THIS SITE OF YOURS AND WHAT YOUR FICTION BOOKS CAN TEACH OTHERS I LIKE YOU SINCERELY FOR BOTH REASONS DEAR JANE LINDSKOLD

    I’M QUITE PLEASED THAT YOU HAVE THIS EXTRA SITE AND NOT ONLY E-MAIL WEBSITES TO REACH YOU ON DEAR JANE. A PERSON LIKE YOU, OR SITES SPECIAL LIKE THE SITE A LADY NAMED BRENDA OWNS (RUNS WITH WOLVES) ALL THE TIME I SAY WHAT I DO FOR SIGNS OF LOYALTY, NOT ONLY TO EXPRESS MYSELF. YOU’RE A REAL #1 ACQUAINTANCE JANE. YOU’RE AS OLD AS YOU ARE HOWEVER YOUR ONE OF THE OLDER WOMEN I’D CONSIDER QUITE WISE ESPECIALLY COMPARED TO HOW LESS MANNERED MANY KIDS ARE TODAY.

    ON YOUR SITE IT’S I LIKE TO TALK TO, ON RUNS WITH WOLVES IT’S THE BEAUTIFUL SHE WOLF WHO HAS HER SECRET SITE MY TURN TO SPEAK HER NAME IS LOMASI I LOVE TO HOWL WITH HER ON THIS WEBSITE.

    BUT DEAR JANE WHAT SURPRISES ME IS OTHER THAN THE VOLUNTEERS OF THIS RUNS WITH WOLVES PLACE IN MAINE I ONLY FIND MY NAME REPEATED LIKE THE ONLY SITE THEY HAVE OTHER FANS ON IS FACEBOOK????????

  12. henrietta abeyta Says:

    YOU JANE AND LOMASI A SHE WOLF WHOSE NAME MEANS PRETTY FLOWER, TWO FAR AWAY LAND ACQUAINTACES I FOUND LIKE A DREAM COME TRUE BECAUSE YES I’VE ALWAYS WISHED TO SPEAK FOR THE WOLVES. AND LOOKING UP YOUR BOOKS OF FIREKEEPER’S SAGA IS HOW I FOUND THIS NICE TALKATIVE SITE OF YOURS.

    I SURE ENJOY THE TWO SITES BUT I NEVER EXPECTED TO FIND THEM. IT’S JASMINE OLSON EXPRESSING PLEASURE AND GRATTITUDE WHILE SAYING HOW FIRM HER LOYALTY IS FOR THESE TWO WEBSITES.

  13. henrietta abeyta Says:

    I BELIEVE SHADOW WOULD LOVE TO MEET A TRUE FRIEND LIKE YOU DEAR JANE SHE’S ON THIS RUNS WITH WOLVES SITE TOO, BUT THE SITE ITSELF TELLS YOU SHE’S TOO CALM TO STAY WITH THE PACK FOREVER, SHE’S CALM ENOUGH TO BE A WOLAMUTE KEPT AT A HOUSE. BESIDES HOW MUCH YOU AND I ENJOY WOLVES AND THEIR COUSINS, YOUR PICTURE OF HUGGING A REAL WOLF AT A SANCTUARY IS THE OTHER THHING THAT MADE ME MENTION THIS SHORT WOLAMUTE TO YOU. THIS RUNS WITH WOLVES SITE IS HOPING SOMEONE BRAVE AND POLITE TO THE WOLVES LIKE YOU DEAR JANE WOULD ADOPT HER SOMEDAY, BUT I’M AFRAID SHE’S GOING TO BE ADOPTED A WHOLE LOT SLOWER THAN HERDING DOGS USUALLY ARE.

    JASMINE OLSON SPEAKING FOR A SHE WOLAMUTE SHADOW TO JANE LINDSKOLD SINCE JASMINE SINCERELY FINDS JANE TRUSTWORTHY AND HARMLESS TO HER WILD WOLF FRIENDS. PLUS THE ENTERTAINMENT SHE FINDS IN JANE LINDSKOLD FICTION BOOKS.

  14. henrietta abeyta Says:

    AS I FIND YOU TRUSTWORTHY JANE AND THEN TRAVELING PICTURES YOU SHOW ON YOUR WEBSITE THIS RUNS WITH WOLVES SITE IS FOR LUCKY WOLVES IN MAINE.

  15. henrietta abeyta Says:

    ONLY TWENTY YEARS SINCE THEIR LUCK STARTED TO REALLY COME AT ALL GOOD LUCK TO YELLOWSTONE!!!!!!!! AND DEFINITELY GOOD LUCK TO WOLF SANCTUARIES IN THE NORTHERN U. S. TOO. PLUS GOOD LUCK TO THIS EXPERT AUTHOR JANE LINDSKOLD HERSELF.

  16. henrietta abeyta Says:

    A RESPECTABLE STAR AUTHOR I’D SAY.

  17. henrietta abeyta Says:

    CONSIDERATION AND FASCINATION FOUND WITH YOU JANE.

    PEACE AND COURAGE FOUND WITH THE WOLVES!!!!!!!!!! IT’ES TOTALLY TRUE PEACE ISN’T THE ABSENCE OF CONFLICT IT’S THE ABILITY TO HANDLE CONFLICT BY PEACEFUL MEANS.

    WHAT DOES THE ZOO THINK IT WAS DOING TO THAT ONE GIANT GORILLA I AGREE THE PARENTS SHOULD BE PUNISHED IN A FINANCIAL WAY, THEY WEREN’T KEEPING AN EYE ON WHERE THEIR BOY RAN AND LEAPED, NO! THE GORILLA WAS ONLY EXPRESSING HIMSELF ACTIVELY!!! EXPRESSIONS AND FIGHTS ARE NOT THE SAME THING!!!!!

    DO AS MERLIN SAYS THINK BEFORE YOU LEAP/ LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP BE OBEDIENT IN WILDLIFE PUBLIC PLACES KID!!!!!! I FEEL SORRY FOR THE GORILLA, WHAT YOU DID WAS BOTH AGRIVATING AND DEFINITELY UNRULY!

    NEVER EVER JUMP INTO ANOTHER ZOO ANIMAL’S PEN KID YOU ANNOYED ANIMALS’ TRUE FRIENDS LIKE ME, YOU ANNOYED THE ZOO FOR SURE AND YOU MADE THE GORILLA NERVOUS SHOW SOME REAL RESPECT KID!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU’LL NEVER EVER AT ALL BE ABLE TO HIDE YOUR CONFESSION OF THIS BIG MISTAKE KID IT WAS ON THE INTERNET. I’M ON MY GDRANDMA’S SIDE YOUR FAMILY SHOULD GET THIS ZOO A NEW GORILA.

    ABSOLUTELY YOU SHOULD APOLOGIZE FOR THIS HARM CAUSED BY THIS PEN TRESPASSING OF YOURS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’M NOT TRYING TO BE NASTY I’M JUST SHOWING HOW MUCH I CARE ABOUT ANIMALS.

  18. henrietta abeyta Says:

    See kid, CINCINNATI ZOO HAS NOW EVEN BEEN TOLD ABOUT ON FACEBOOK SINCE YOU AGRIVATED THE POOR GORILLA ENOUGH THAT THE ZOO KILLED HIM???????????????!!!!!!!!!!!

    AND MSN NEWS SITE IS WHERE I FOUND THIS TERRIBLE NEWS MYSELF.

  19. henrietta abeyta Says:

    LIZARDS QUESTIONABLE
    SNAKES YIKES!!!
    ALLIGATORS CROCIDILES YIKES!

    WOLVES I LOVE YOU AND CAN EASILY LEARN FROM YOU.

    TURTLE HELLO

    PANDA HAVE FUN

    BIRDS LET’S SING

    DOLPHINS LET’S SWIM

    RATS AND MICE WHAT YOU LOOKING FOR?????????

    ROLLIE POLLIES HAHAHA YOU’RE GONE LITTLE CRAWLIES

    SPIDER GET OUT OF THE HOUSE

    BEE KEEP FLYING I’M JUST PASSING BY DON’T STING ME

    KNATS AND MISQUITOES GO AWAY!!!

    DOGS LET’S PLAY

    BOBCATS LIONS AND TIGERS YOU’RE MY FAVORITES

    DOMESTIC KITTIES YOU’RE FUN TOO

    HORSES I’D STAY BY YOU IF I EVER HAD A BARN.

    FROGS AND TOAD QUESTIONABLE.

    BUTTERFLIES CHARMING.

    BEARS ENTERTAINING ESPECIALLY WHEN ANIMATED.

    MONKEYS AND APES HOW YOU DOING CLOSE COUSINS?

    THESE ARE A FEW EXAMPLES OF MY ANIMAL OPINIONS

  20. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Animals like wolves and gorillas it’s the animals like you two that I give the most sympathy to sincerely, studying science and enjoying fiction stories that have you, plus entertaining movies that include you.

    With you wolves it’s comprehension of your spirit and my similar reputation thanks to my 3 disabilities putting me a little bit in SPECIAL ED CLASS WHEN I’M MORE A RESOURCE LEVEL GIRL. With animals like you gorillas it’s ecosystem and character.

    JASMINE OLSON TALKING OPENLY TO THESE 2 ANIMALS, WITH WHAT’S HAPPENED RECENTLY, AND HOW MUCH HOPE SHE SHARES WITH THEM.

  21. henrietta abeyta Says:

    COME ON PEOPLE AROUND THE WORLD IF WE WANT THE ECOSYSTEM TO STAY BALANCED THEN WE MUST GAIN PATIENCE AND START TAKING THE INITIATIVE OBEYING RULES THE SCIENTIST GIVE US. I HAVE ENOUGH HEART TO SAY I AGREE WITH PHIL COLLINS 2 WORLDS 1 FAMILY.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      Jasmine, I hear your passion for the wild and your desire for events to work out in a way that’s “fair.”

      Sadly, outside of stories, life is rarely fair.

      Maybe that’s why I like stories so much.

      And why I’ll keep telling them, no matter what.

  22. henrietta abeyta Says:

    TRUE INDEED. IT’S GRANDMA WHO HELPS ME SHOW EMPLOYERS THAT CAN DO MORE THAN JUST CLEAN THINGS, WITH HOW LITTLE TRUST DISABLED PEOPLE ARE GIVEN.

    GENTLE PEOPLE LIKE YOURSELF JANE EASILY UPLIFT ME.

    BUT AS IT’S NECESSARY TO BELIEVE IN OURSELVES I’M SURE IT’S FICTION STORIES THAT HAVE HELPED ME THERE. I THINK WITHOUT SOME HELP FROM FICTION STORIES I WOULDN’T BE AS STRONG. PLUS THE FACT THAT THE JOB OF A SOCIAL WORKER IS ONE OF THE FEW JOBS GRANDMA DID, WHICH I’M SURE IS WHAT HELPED ME FIND MY OWN PRUDENCE.

  23. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Clear conscience and self-acceptance are what I wish to never lose. Accepting how things work outside the world is what I need to gain skill on, when I think of others including animals, it’s TRUTH that I value the most.

  24. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Plus it doesn’t matter if you mention cooperation or wildlife, THE CIRCLE OF LIFE IS REAL, but it’s one of the things people focus on the least.

Leave a Reply

