FF: Not Before Bed

This week I read Well of Shiuan by C.J. Cherryh.  I found the story made me very tense, so I decided against reading it right before going to sleep.  Instead, I read short stories from Once Upon a Time by Shannon Hale instead.  Proved an interesting mix.  I’m always amazed how much variety there can be between the books I enjoy.

Read Me a Story!

Read Me a Story!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Well of Shiuan by C.J. Cherryh.

When in Rome by Ngaio Marsh.  Audiobook.  Re-read.

Once Upon a Time by Shannon Hale.  An Ever After High short story collection, fleshing out various characters.  Slight feel at times of being the author’s notes, but in an interesting, not bad, way.

In Progress:

The Murder Room by P.D. James.  Audiobook.  Surprisingly similar in some ways to the prior book (Death in Holy Orders) in the series in that the tension is built around conflict over whether or not to close an institution.

Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale.  Direct Sequel to Princess Academy.  Just started.

Also:

One of my own unsold manuscripts.  It’s been a fun trip.

3 Responses to “FF: Not Before Bed”

  1. Paul Dellinger Says:

    I often read in bed – but not for long, as even a good book puts me to sleep pretty soon. Occasionally I will remember bits and pieces of a dream relating to whatever I’ve read.

  2. henrietta abeyta Says:

    Well I JASMINE OLSON read not only for entertainment but also to soothe myself independently. Legend, Fable, myth, regular fiction, fantasy, spiritual stories of nature, history told in a fiction book, science fiction like Jane Lindskold’s, or some kind of science that I’m sure will interest me at the current time.

    BALANCE HOW MUCH ENTHUSIASM YOU EXPRESS, AS WELL AS BALANCE HOW MANY SIGNS OF CURIOSITY YOU SHOW OTHERS PEOPLE, this is what I’d say from what Jane helped me learn and what I’d say from part 1 in FIREKEEPER’S 5th book is GAIN DETERMINATION AND DO YOUR BEST TO AVOID AGGRAVATION WHETHER IT’S AN ADVENTURE OR A VACATION. these are the messages I discovered from what BLIND SEER tells RASCAL while they’re both helping TRUTH find the hidden door and allowing FIREKEEPER help when she’s the one with the most strength.

    JASMINE OLSON SHARING STORY OPINIONS AND GOOD DISCOVERY.

  3. henrietta abeyta Says:

    INTIMACY must not be too numerous, but I’d say it’s better than love and it’s also better than insight.

    INTIMATE FREINDS SHARING FREEDOM DEAR BLIND SEER!

    DOUBTLESS CONSIDERATION

    FULL OF SYMPATHY

    WE’RE IN HARMONY BLIND SEER I’M SINCERE!!

    COMPARED TO ANIMALS I KNOW WELL YOU WOLVES ARE THE ONES I’D HAVE AS NUMBER ONE ON MY CHART OF WHO I FIND INTIMATE TO ME BLIND SEER!!!!!!!!!! ESPECIALLY SINCE I’VE READ A LARGER COLLECTION OF BOOKS THAN MOST WOULD CHOOSE TO ABOUT YOUR HELPFUL EFICIENT PACKS.

    JASMINE OLSON EXPRESSING A FIRM FEELING THAT ARRIVED IMMEDIATELY AFTER READING A QUOTE THAT MENTIONED WHAT A REAL INTIMATE FRIEND IS.

Leave a Reply

