FF: Best Thing About Air Travel

The best thing about air travel is that it gives me a lot of time to read.  That’s why this week’s print list is so long and the audio is not.

They're Not Using It!

They’re Not Using It!

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

A Caribbean Mystery by Agatha Christie.  Audiobook.  Reader has no idea how to do American accents, but otherwise is fine.  Miss Marple looks for trouble – and finds it.  An old favorite.

Nobody’s Princess by Esther Friesner.  Fun read, really picked up after first third.

Kingfisher by Patricia A. McKillip.  The kitchen element grounded an oft-retold legend.  I also like the modern take on knights.

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein.  Recommended by my eleven year-old nephew Tim.  I quite enjoyed.

Jellicoe Road by Melina MarchettaI loved this book the first time I read it.  If possible, I loved it more the second time.

In Progress:

Negima! Magister Magi by Ken Akamatsu.  Manga.  I’d read the first 23 of these, then a gap in library holdings caused me to stop.  Now I’ve started again.

Wonders of the Invisible World by Patricia A. McKillip.  Short story collection.  Just started.

Onion Girl by Charles De Lint. Audiobook.  I read this in print when it first came out.  Seeing the audio tempted me into a revisit.  Just started.

Also:

Proofing a manuscript, again…

5 Responses to “FF: Best Thing About Air Travel”

  1. henrietta abeyta Says:

    We read books where we’re sure we won’t forget them like while waiting for a doctor. Music on an ipod and word search are what I take on the plane. House or plane music puts me to sleep quick and I’m skillful at finding the words on word search pages quick, once in a while I’m helping someone else with his or her own word search. Also doing an activity that can help you relax is better than falling on a book that you enjoy and accidently tearing it because of falling off the seat, you never know how you’re going to fall when you have seizures, that’s the other main reason Grandma’s always next to me.

    It’s quite a pleasure when you really have a family member who’s both a real friend and also your main savior, Grandma’s able to figure out what to say to public people so I still have a chance to prove I’m worthy enough to be trusted despite my disabilities. Without her I’d be stuck at home going nowhere, like I struggle reading files I struggle with navigating on streets. plus how much my Epilepsy makes me feel afraid to be the driver myself.

    Jasmine Olson expressing traveling emotions that do with both going to public places and going on vacation.

  2. Peter Says:

    Having just gotten in after 30-odd hours in transit, I heartily second the “air travel gives one time to read” sentiment.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      That’s a long trip… I hope it went well and you read many good things.

      • Peter Says:

        Went about as well as a trip like that can be expected to go 🙂 Finished Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series, read Daniel O’Malley’s two Checquy novels (The Rook and Stiletto), Mira Grant’s new short story collection, and wrapped up with a visit to the Witchworld (about 25 hours in my brain was starting to fuse, so I went for something familiar).

        A well-stocked Kindle is a blessing (I can remember the days when my carry-on was heavier than my checked luggage from all the books in it.)

Leave a Reply

