FF: Summer Reading

Weather still topping a hundred!  And I’m still reading.

For those of you just discovering this feature, the Friday Fragments lists what I’ve read over the past week.  Most of the time I don’t include details of either short fiction (unless part of a book-length collection) or magazine articles.

Ogapoge Chills with McKillip

Ogapoge Chills with McKillip

The Fragments are not meant to be a recommendation list.  If you’re interested in a not-at-all-inclusive recommendation list, you can look on my website under Neat Stuff.

Once again, this is not a book review column.  It’s just a list with, maybe, a bit of description or a few opinions tossed in.

Recently Completed:

Onion Girl by Charles De Lint. Audiobook.  A gritty, even bitter, tale.  Excellent audiobook reader.

The Forgotten Sisters  (Princess Academy Book 3) by Shannon Hale.  I enjoyed.  However, Miri seems to have an emotional “reset” button in each book.  I’d like her to develop more.

In Progress:

Wonders of the Invisible World by Patricia A. McKillip.  Short story collection.  Reading before bed.  Gives interesting dreams.

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson.  (“Mistborn” Book 1.)  Audiobook.

Kamisama Kiss by Julietta Suzuki.  Manga.  Neat use of Japanese supernatural elements.

Also:

Still catching up on magazines.

3 Responses to “FF: Summer Reading”

  1. chadmerkley Says:

    THE ONION GIRL is not a happy book, but it addresses some pretty deep issues, and the resolution at the end is impressive. I read the Mistborn books, but I found the world-building kind of got in the way of the story. In general, I haven’t been enjoyed in Sanderson’s work, except for a novella called THE EMPEROR’S SOUL, which was an absolute gem.

    I just found the Emperor’s Edge series by Lindsay Buroker. It’s kind of like a fantasy/steampunk version of the A-Team. Over the top, ridiculous action, but very good characters. Very fun.

    • Jane Lindskold Says:

      I agree that world-building is very dominant in what I’ve listened to of the first Mistborn book. I wonder if that’s a big part of the appeal?

      I shall keep an eye out for the novella you mentioned. Where did you find it?

      I like THE ONION GIRL overall, although I think it could have ended sooner. I kept wanting more resolution with that many pages after matters w/Raelynn and Jilly are more or less resolved.

      • chadmerkley Says:

        I found The Emperor’s Soul as a paperback at the public library. You should be able to track it down pretty easily. My brother-in-law really likes Brandon Sanderson, and recommended several titles to me, but this wasn’t one he recommended (it’s normal to think in-laws are little strange, right?).

Leave a Reply

